Zimbra offers Open Source email server software and shared calendar for Linux and the Mac
Go Back   Zimbra :: Forums > Zimbra Collaboration Suite > Administrators

Welcome to the Zimbra :: Forums!
Welcome, if you would like to post a comment please register. We also encourage you to explore all things Zimbra with our team and members of the community.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 09-20-2010, 08:29 AM
Member
 
Posts: 11
Question Mail sent to hotmail filtered as junk

Hello forum,

I have the folowing problem:

Mail sent to yahoo or gmail is "authorized" correctly, but that's not the case with hotmail, mail sent to them goes directly to junk folder.

I think i have the correct rDNS and SPF configuration (so tells me mxtoolbox and other online tools like allboutspam).

Here are the headers:

YAHOO:

Received-SPF: pass (mta1018.mail.ac4.yahoo.com: domain of abuse@dtctty.com designates 200.108.192.202 as permitted sender)


GMAIL:

Received-SPF: pass (google.com: domain of abuse@dtctty.com designates 200.108.192.202 as permitted sender) client-ip=200.108.192.202;
Authentication-Results: mx.google.com; spf=pass (google.com: domain of abuse@dtctty.com designates 200.108.192.202 as permitted sender) smtp.mail=abuse@dtctty.com


HOTMAIL:

X-Message-Delivery: Vj0xLjE7dXM9MDtsPTA7YT0wO0Q9MjtTQ0w9Ng==
X-Message-Status: n:0
X-SID-PRA: Abuse <abuse@dtctty.com>
X-AUTH-Result: NONE
X-Message-Info: M98loaK0Lo03CDaEBO2C4Ll6LV2h4CdtaNpecEn/xjb5TuMIVCNXxmnKvXD2eDP/k6t9u12akCnIGAJHe34bIXBOOT8vzIlbeJ0bnGRuwOs=


I've joined the Microsoft sender ID program without any luck.

I'd also like to know if anyone has ny experience with JMRP, it seems quite an amount of work the get it working and, it would be good to be sure that it is going to work. Besides the fact tha it seems a rather arbitrary policy and doesn't feel "right" to give in into microsoft caprice.

I'd be glad if anyone could help me, or just comment on my problem.
__________________
apt-get a.life
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 09-22-2010, 02:02 PM
Member
 
Posts: 11
Default

Come on guys, not even a comment?
__________________
apt-get a.life
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 09-22-2010, 05:29 PM
raj raj is offline
Moderator
 
Posts: 768
Default

The header information you have posted in in-complete..can you please post FULL email header from hotmail..what you are showing is your Zimbra mail server ip...which looks clean..but sometimes if you send email thru email client or webmail (x-orign) your home or office ip will also show up in full header.
Many times ISP's (hotmail and others) checks ALL ip's in the header and may mark your email SPAM even of your email server ip is clean.

if you post full un-altered hotmail header here then may be we can give you some insight.

Raj
__________________
i2k2 Networks
Dedicated & Shared Zimbra Hosting Provider
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 09-23-2010, 10:40 AM
Member
 
Posts: 11
Default

Thanks Raj. Here is the full mail code:

Code:
X-Message-Delivery: Vj0xLjE7dXM9MDtsPTE7YT0xO0Q9MjtTQ0w9MA==
X-Message-Status: n
X-SID-PRA: Abuse <abuse@dtctty.com>
X-AUTH-Result: NONE
X-Message-Info: M98loaK0Lo3SxLS3cTGpeweOSagpF5QWZ3EAuXS5owqECxtMf1l12Wtlt16fYx/HCXn2+ytYgB6QB2rgXc9cJfny8SmtCnlDqYItD54jCPc=
Received: from mailserver.dtctty.com ([200.108.192.202]) by bay0-mc3-f34.Bay0.hotmail.com with Microsoft SMTPSVC(6.0.3790.4675);
	 Mon, 20 Sep 2010 08:57:02 -0700
Received: from localhost (localhost.localdomain [127.0.0.1])
	by mailserver.dtctty.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id E16DD9D0003
	for <nico_cambon@hotmail.com>; Mon, 20 Sep 2010 12:57:01 -0300 (UYT)
X-Virus-Scanned: amavisd-new at mailserver.dtctty.com
Received: from mailserver.dtctty.com ([127.0.0.1])
	by localhost (mailserver.dtctty.com [127.0.0.1]) (amavisd-new, port 10024)
	with ESMTP id e2Cy8zVwK3bU for <nico_cambon@hotmail.com>;
	Mon, 20 Sep 2010 12:57:01 -0300 (UYT)
Received: from mailserver.dtctty.com (mailserver.dtctty.com [192.168.75.50])
	by mailserver.dtctty.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id 68F6C9D0001
	for <nico_cambon@hotmail.com>; Mon, 20 Sep 2010 12:57:01 -0300 (UYT)
Date: Mon, 20 Sep 2010 12:57:01 -0300 (UYT)
From: Abuse <abuse@dtctty.com>
To: nico cambon <nico_cambon@hotmail.com>
Message-ID: <713751.29330.1284998221357.JavaMail.root@mailserver.dtctty.com>
Subject: Correo
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=utf-8
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
X-Mailer: Zimbra 6.0.6_GA_2330.DEBIAN5 (ZimbraWebClient - FF3.0 (Win)/6.0.6_GA_2330.DEBIAN5)
Return-Path: abuse@dtctty.com
X-OriginalArrivalTime: 20 Sep 2010 15:57:03.0185 (UTC) FILETIME=[778B2C10:01CB58DC]




Este es un correo de prueba


Can you see anything wrong in that?

Thanks again.
__________________
apt-get a.life
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 09-23-2010, 10:10 PM
raj raj is offline
Moderator
 
Posts: 768
Default

i dont see anything wrong with headers.
only think i can think of is your username = abuse
can you please use a different username and try to send a simple email body not TEST, or a word TEST in your email. Bust sometihg simple good email text using and different email username and see what are the results..

Looks like hotmail dont like your username or the content which is not in the header

* hotmail is institution in its own with no poublic explainations when they block you..and sometimes if you contact there support they DO answer back..may take few days but they do.

Raj
__________________
i2k2 Networks
Dedicated & Shared Zimbra Hosting Provider
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 09-24-2010, 12:27 PM
Member
 
Posts: 11
Default

Raj:

About the username,subject and email content: no matter what i use, the result is always the same. I tried with with a simple account (myname@domain), and used a "not-spam-like" subject and content without any luck.

I tried contacting them but they told me to go JMRP myself.

I feel really frustrated! (<== read: AAAHRRGG!!!!!!!)

Thanks for your help Raj.
__________________
apt-get a.life
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 09-26-2010, 04:25 AM
Active Member
 
Posts: 26
Default

Some time ago i had to change the IP-adress of my zimbraserver.
All went well - but at this point there was suddenly a great problem with sending mail to hotmail-users.

I found, that MS smartscreen blocks new IP-adresses in general (!), and it may take several weeks/month until they will give you the green light.

Here a very interesting article about "Getting through to Hotmail":
Getting through to Hotmail, MSN, Live users : The Draconian -- and useless -- processes - Web Forefront

You may participate in SNDS, SPF and JMRP - without any guaranty of success.
You may register at SenderScoreCertifiedProgram ( www.returpath.net ) and pay lots of dollars for the ability to receive MS-hotmail-users...
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 09-27-2010, 04:52 PM
Member
 
Posts: 11
Default

Thanks firemike for your comments.

I've found several pages written by frustrated webmasters like the one you linked, and none of them mentioned a solution that worked for me.

I'd realy like to know if anyone went the JMRP way and had any luck.

For the moment i'll just keep smashing my head against the keyboard, as it returns the same results as microsoft advices but it's a lot funnier.

Thanks again firemike.
__________________
apt-get a.life
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 12-21-2010, 05:45 PM
gfp gfp is offline
Starter Member
 
Posts: 1
Default Jmrp

JMRP worked for me.
It is very usefull cleanning users that report your messages.

You have to be very patient to reach hotmail inbox. At least 5 weeks of RED snds report and, obviously, sending to good lists (opt in lists) the SNDS turns to yellow .. and few days later .. GREEN.

gfp
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads

Why Join?

Registering let's you ask questions, makes it easier to search, displays any files attached to posts, and notifies you about replies.

blog.zimbra.com




 

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.