Zimbra offers Open Source email server software and shared calendar for Linux and the Mac
Go Back   Zimbra :: Forums > Zimbra Collaboration Suite > Administrators

Welcome to the Zimbra :: Forums!
Welcome, if you would like to post a comment please register. We also encourage you to explore all things Zimbra with our team and members of the community.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 08-06-2010, 07:35 PM
Junior Member
 
Posts: 5
Default 2000 email on active list, not from or to my domain, SPAM?

Hi guys, i had installed zimbra comunity 6 n past 15 days, i'm worry about what is happening, let me explain,

today morning i received 2393 email, that's ok, but, it's not from my domain and neither to my domain, its from "gnn.com.my" and "chase.com", with a little search on google o found some phishing spam using this two domain, and the worst is that the source ip from those emails is Loopback (127.0.0.1), am I a spam reply???
Is there something missconfigured?

printscreen from zimbra admin console:
http://img32.imageshack.us/img32/3573/bugspamzimbra.png

hope you can help me!!!

PS: the messages was on active tab, i send the to "retidos" tab!
Sorry my poor english
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 08-06-2010, 11:26 PM
Zimbra Consultant & Moderator
 
Posts: 20,313
Default

You can start by doing an open relay test on your serer, use one of the sites listed here to test: +"open relay test" - Yahoo! Search Results

You can also search the forums for some additional posts on how to improve the anti-spam system on Zimbra, you can also have a look at this article: Improving Anti-spam system - Zimbra :: Wiki and implement some of it's recommendations (if you like) and specifically the section on Discarding Emails Sent to Invalid Addresses . Have a look in the log files (or the daily mail report sent to your Admin account) and see if any of your users are sending large numbers of email (you may have a security problem with passwords).

Have you made any changes to Zimbra or the Anti-Spam system since yiu installed Zimbra?
__________________
Regards


Bill
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 08-07-2010, 06:07 AM
Junior Member
 
Posts: 5
Default hi

hi phoenix, thanks for the answer.

i test my server with SpamHelp . org, an there says "Testing xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx on port 25... successful! - the SMTP server is NOT an open relay.".

apparently i'm not a spam relay, an no, ido not change defautl conf of spam on zimbra.

a few days ago i saw the link that you poster about improving anti-spam system and i've added som domain to blacklist, like the link say to do.

i've been analising the report on admin for a few days and some of my top 50 senders are using outlook and windows mail, nothing too big, about a 50 mails per day, maybe the problem is the password stored on outlook?

i'd like some suggestions about my problem.

thanks for your time.

greets from brazil!

Luiz maia
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads

Why Join?

Registering let's you ask questions, makes it easier to search, displays any files attached to posts, and notifies you about replies.

blog.zimbra.com




 

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.