Zimbra offers Open Source email server software and shared calendar for Linux and the Mac
Go Back   Zimbra :: Forums > Zimbra Collaboration Suite > Administrators

Welcome to the Zimbra :: Forums!
Welcome, if you would like to post a comment please register. We also encourage you to explore all things Zimbra with our team and members of the community.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 07-08-2010, 11:27 AM
Junior Member
 
Posts: 9
Default Whitelist domain

Hello, I have a customer that is getting bounce message off my Zimbra server. I see the 6 emails in the defered que, I moved them to the "hold" so that I could whitelist the domain to get the e-mails thru. I was following the instructions here but the amavisd.conf does not exist. I tried as root and as the zimbra user. How do I let these emails thru, I trust the domain they are comming from, i just dont know how to get them thru.

Thanks in advance

-Odis
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 07-08-2010, 11:41 AM
Junior Member
 
Posts: 9
Default

Well, I found the file.

I can only edit it as root, and when i restart it with "zmamavisdctl stop && zmamavisdctl start" (as the zimbra user) it re-writes the file and erases my entry.

What next?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 07-08-2010, 11:58 AM
Junior Member
 
Posts: 9
Default

Second update:

editied both the amavisd.conf and the amavisd.conf.in with the domain and a "-10.0" rating. It seems stick, but the emails from that domain are STILL bouncing back. Even after i restart it as the zimbra user. Getting slightly desperate now, anysuggestions would be greatly appriciated!

-Odis
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 07-08-2010, 11:54 PM
Zimbra Consultant & Moderator
 
Posts: 20,313
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Odis View Post
editied both the amavisd.conf and the amavisd.conf.in with the domain and a "-10.0" rating.
If there are two configuration files in any Zimbra directory, the one to edit would be the one with the .in suffix - that will rewrite the .conf file correctly.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Odis View Post
It seems stick, but the emails from that domain are STILL bouncing back. Even after i restart it as the zimbra user. Getting slightly desperate now, anysuggestions would be greatly appriciated!
What exatly do you mean by the commenct "is getting bounce message off my Zimbra server", what are they seeing? You need to post any error messages you see in the log files and the headers from a failed deliver (if you can get them) and the exact error the client is seeing.
__________________
Regards


Bill
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 07-09-2010, 12:27 PM
Junior Member
 
Posts: 9
Default

Thanks for the suggestions/info phoenix, I fixed the problem. The IDS on our router blocked the IP of the company's email server because there were multiple SSH access attempts from it. Why they were trying to SSH into our network is beyond me, and makes me VERY suspicious. I took the IP off the block list and email is now flowing.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads

Why Join?

Registering let's you ask questions, makes it easier to search, displays any files attached to posts, and notifies you about replies.

blog.zimbra.com




 

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.