Zimbra offers Open Source email server software and shared calendar for Linux and the Mac
Go Back   Zimbra :: Forums > Zimbra Collaboration Suite > Administrators

Welcome to the Zimbra :: Forums!
Welcome, if you would like to post a comment please register. We also encourage you to explore all things Zimbra with our team and members of the community.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 06-16-2010, 12:04 AM
Active Member
 
Posts: 38
Default Disabling dnsbl replies

Hello,

I want to disable zimbra from sending blocked messages email that has been blocked by dnsbl.

My mail server is being flagged for spamming and I think this might be the cause.

How do I disable this?

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 06-16-2010, 12:08 AM
Zimbra Consultant & Moderator
 
Posts: 20,313
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mutuku View Post
I want to disable zimbra from sending blocked messages email that has been blocked by dnsbl.
Who is it sending the email to?

Quote:
Originally Posted by mutuku View Post
My mail server is being flagged for spamming and I think this might be the cause.
That's not likely to be the reason you're listed and you haven't said what investigation you've done into why you're actually on a blacklist.
__________________
Regards


Bill
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 06-16-2010, 12:27 AM
Active Member
 
Posts: 38
Default

If Someone sends mail to my mail server and they are blocked during dnsbl checks, they(the sender) get an error( e.g host
[X.X.X.X] blocked using dnsbl.sorbs.net; Exploitable Server See:
SORBS Database Lookup
), X.X.X.X being the IP of the sneders mail server.

the resason I am on the black list is this 41.215.35.14 | Mail Server | Dictionary Attacker | IP Address Inspector | Project Honey Pot.

I have checked the zimbra logs and there are no traces of the said mail. My server is not an open relay.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 06-16-2010, 12:36 AM
Zimbra Consultant & Moderator
 
Posts: 20,313
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mutuku View Post
If Someone sends mail to my mail server and they are blocked during dnsbl checks, they(the sender) get an error( e.g host
[X.X.X.X] blocked using dnsbl.sorbs.net; Exploitable Server See:
SORBS Database Lookup
), X.X.X.X being the IP of the sneders mail server.
That is not an email, it's a response to the sender being blocked and shouldn't cause you any problems with being listed as a spam source.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mutuku View Post
the resason I am on the black list is this 41.215.35.14 | Mail Server | Dictionary Attacker | IP Address Inspector | Project Honey Pot.

I have checked the zimbra logs and there are no traces of the said mail. My server is not an open relay.
You wouldn't see the subject in your log files, you need to see if any of your users are sending unusual levels of email. You should also check your audit log to see if there's any unusual activity in there.
__________________
Regards


Bill
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 06-16-2010, 01:49 AM
Active Member
 
Posts: 38
Default

Audit.log seems ok. Only users who have account are authenticating

On sending of emails, the daily mail reports send to admin@mydomain are a bit confusing. Under "Most active senders", there are email addresses that are not from my domain. Same issue under "Most active recipients". Is this normal?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 06-16-2010, 03:20 AM
Zimbra Consultant & Moderator
 
Posts: 20,313
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mutuku View Post
Audit.log seems ok. Only users who have account are authenticating

On sending of emails, the daily mail reports send to admin@mydomain are a bit confusing. Under "Most active senders", there are email addresses that are not from my domain. Same issue under "Most active recipients". Is this normal?
Yes it's normal, they are the 'most active' and they include email received at your server.
__________________
Regards


Bill
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads

Why Join?

Registering let's you ask questions, makes it easier to search, displays any files attached to posts, and notifies you about replies.

blog.zimbra.com




 

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.