Zimbra offers Open Source email server software and shared calendar for Linux and the Mac
Go Back   Zimbra :: Forums > Zimbra Collaboration Suite > Administrators

Welcome to the Zimbra :: Forums!
Welcome, if you would like to post a comment please register. We also encourage you to explore all things Zimbra with our team and members of the community.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 05-17-2010, 03:55 AM
Active Member
 
Posts: 28
Default internal domain mails going into junk

Hello Friends,

Before few months I had same problem like internal domain mails were going into junk and I had upgraded the version from FOSS 5.0.18 to FOSS 6.0.3 and it was resolved but again I am facing the same problem.Below is the mail header of one of my mail:

Return-Path: user@mydomain.com
Received: from mail.mydomain.com (LHLO mail.mydomain.com)
(172.16.10.18) by mail.mydomain.com with LMTP; Thu, 13 May 2010
06:03:11 +0530 (IST)
Received: from localhost (localhost [127.0.0.1])
by mail.mydomain.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id DB1166D47F9
for <user1@ mydomain.com>; Thu, 13 May 2010 06:03:11 +0530 (IST)
X-Virus-Scanned: amavisd-new at mydomain.com
X-Spam-Flag: YES
X-Spam-Score: 8.995
X-Spam-Level: ********
X-Spam-Status: Yes, score=8.995 tagged_above=-10 required=6.6
tests=[AWL=-2.035, BAYES_80=2, DNS_FROM_OPENWHOIS=1.13,
FH_DATE_PAST_20XX=3.188, RCVD_IN_BL_SPAMCOP_NET=1.96,
RCVD_IN_SORBS_WEB=0.619, RCVD_IN_XBL=3.033, RDNS_NONE=0.1,
DSPAM:Innocent=-1.000] autolearn=spam
Received: from mail.mydomain.com ([127.0.0.1])
by localhost (mail.mydomain.com [127.0.0.1]) (amavisd-new, port 10024)
with ESMTP id SSYhvWP5jT2s; Thu, 13 May 2010 06:03:07 +0530 (IST)
Received: from mail.mydomain.com (mail.mydomain.com [172.16.10.18])
by mail.mydomain.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id 40FA16D4062
for <user1@mydomain.com>; Thu, 13 May 2010 06:03:07 +0530 (IST)
Date: Thu, 13 May 2010 06:03:07 +0530 (IST)
From: user <user@mydomain.com>
To: user1 <user1@mydomain.com>
Message-ID: <26073913.7517.1273710787176.JavaMail.root@mail.my domain.com>
Subject: SUN Virtual
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=utf-8
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
X-Originating-IP: [xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx]
X-Mailer: Zimbra 6.0.3_GA_1915.SuSEES10 (ZimbraWebClient - IE8 (Win)/6.0.3_GA_1915.SuSEES10)

Pls let me know if more informations are needed.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 05-17-2010, 04:13 AM
Moderator
 
Posts: 7,928
Default

This has been covered many times recently on the forums. Please perform a search for :-

DNS_FROM_OPENWHOIS
FH_DATE_PAST_20XX

And a hint is to check the sticky threads under the Administrators section
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 05-17-2010, 04:15 AM
Zimbra Consultant & Moderator
 
Posts: 20,313
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by breejesh View Post
Hello Friends,

Before few months I had same problem like internal domain mails were going into junk and I had upgraded the version from FOSS 5.0.18 to FOSS 6.0.3 and it was resolved but again I am facing the same problem.Below is the mail header of one of my mail:

Return-Path: user@mydomain.com
Received: from mail.mydomain.com (LHLO mail.mydomain.com)
(172.16.10.18) by mail.mydomain.com with LMTP; Thu, 13 May 2010
06:03:11 +0530 (IST)
Received: from localhost (localhost [127.0.0.1])
by mail.mydomain.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id DB1166D47F9
for <user1@ mydomain.com>; Thu, 13 May 2010 06:03:11 +0530 (IST)
X-Virus-Scanned: amavisd-new at mydomain.com
X-Spam-Flag: YES
X-Spam-Score: 8.995
X-Spam-Level: ********
X-Spam-Status: Yes, score=8.995 tagged_above=-10 required=6.6
tests=[AWL=-2.035, BAYES_80=2, DNS_FROM_OPENWHOIS=1.13,
FH_DATE_PAST_20XX=3.188, RCVD_IN_BL_SPAMCOP_NET=1.96,
RCVD_IN_SORBS_WEB=0.619, RCVD_IN_XBL=3.033, RDNS_NONE=0.1,
DSPAM:Innocent=-1.000] autolearn=spam
Received: from mail.mydomain.com ([127.0.0.1])
by localhost (mail.mydomain.com [127.0.0.1]) (amavisd-new, port 10024)
with ESMTP id SSYhvWP5jT2s; Thu, 13 May 2010 06:03:07 +0530 (IST)
Received: from mail.mydomain.com (mail.mydomain.com [172.16.10.18])
by mail.mydomain.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id 40FA16D4062
for <user1@mydomain.com>; Thu, 13 May 2010 06:03:07 +0530 (IST)
Date: Thu, 13 May 2010 06:03:07 +0530 (IST)
From: user <user@mydomain.com>
To: user1 <user1@mydomain.com>
Message-ID: <26073913.7517.1273710787176.JavaMail.root@mail.my domain.com>
Subject: SUN Virtual
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=utf-8
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
X-Originating-IP: [xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx]
X-Mailer: Zimbra 6.0.3_GA_1915.SuSEES10 (ZimbraWebClient - IE8 (Win)/6.0.3_GA_1915.SuSEES10)

Pls let me know if more informations are needed.

Thanks
Search the forums for the items highlighed in red, for the item highlighted in blue - that is because the IP of the sender is on an RBL and needs fixing.
__________________
Regards


Bill
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 05-18-2010, 04:35 PM
Moderator
 
Posts: 1,432
Default

Yes, the RBLed IP needs fixing, but also see Bug 44384 - Bypass SA for emails sent from internal ZWC users (or provide a way to score them) and the forum threads linked from there.
__________________
Elliot Wilen
Berkeley, CA

Don't forget to enter your Zimbra version in your forum profile.

Last edited by ewilen; 05-24-2010 at 12:13 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 05-24-2010, 11:59 AM
Active Member
 
Posts: 28
Default

Did you mean to say that my ip address has been blacklisted.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 05-24-2010, 12:18 PM
Moderator
 
Posts: 1,432
Default

Yes, the machine accessing the Zimbra Web Client is using an IP address that's in the SpamCop, SORBS, and XBL blacklists. So, that's kind of bad, and your ISP should do something about it--like identify who's sending spam from that address.

It's not really your fault, though, unless you've got an infected machine. And since you've authenticated to Zimbra over the web interface, it kind of doesn't makes sense for Zimbra to think you're a spammer no matter what the RBLs say. Thus bug 44384 proposes modifying how Zimbra uses SA for emails that originate on the same server via the web interface.
__________________
Elliot Wilen
Berkeley, CA

Don't forget to enter your Zimbra version in your forum profile.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 05-24-2010, 12:41 PM
Active Member
 
Posts: 28
Default

Then I should ask my isp to delisted me from blacklist. right?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 05-24-2010, 05:14 PM
Moderator
 
Posts: 1,432
Default

Not exactly. Your isp doesn't manage the blacklist. They need to find out why your IP address is on the blacklist, take measures to keep spam from coming from that IP, and then either wait for the listing to expire, or request delisting by the blacklist authority. I'd suggest you visit the following URLs for more info:

SpamCop.net - Blocking List ( bl.spamcop.net )
http://www.spamhaus.org/faq/answers....Spamhaus%20XBL
SORBS - Listing and Delisting Overview
__________________
Elliot Wilen
Berkeley, CA

Don't forget to enter your Zimbra version in your forum profile.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 05-28-2010, 10:41 AM
imx imx is offline
Special Member
 
Posts: 131
Default

interestingly, i see you suffer from the same issue i have - RDNS_NONE for internal mail! I have PTR records in place for the host, these hosts resolve both forward and reverse - there are also the correct hosts file entries.... i dont get it :/

Ive resorted to scoring it low as well, 0.1, when in reality id like to score it higher...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads

Why Join?

Registering let's you ask questions, makes it easier to search, displays any files attached to posts, and notifies you about replies.

blog.zimbra.com




 

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.