Zimbra offers Open Source email server software and shared calendar for Linux and the Mac
Go Back   Zimbra :: Forums > Zimbra Collaboration Suite > Administrators

Welcome to the Zimbra :: Forums!
Welcome, if you would like to post a comment please register. We also encourage you to explore all things Zimbra with our team and members of the community.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 04-12-2010, 07:24 AM
Elite Member
 
Posts: 440
Angry Need urgent help on spamming issue

Hi Guys,

We are facing very serious issue ...we are having example.com domain and
multiple <invalid>@example.com emails IDs are using our mail server to send mails to other valid / invalid email IDs.....

Our mail server is behind firewall and not open relay ....

Right now more than 30000 mails are in queue and our customer's mails are getting stuck in MTA from last more tahn 2 hours....

So here someone is using valid domain name with invalid local part ( left side of @) and sending mail through our server.....


Please suggest and help .....
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 04-12-2010, 08:20 AM
Moderator
 
Posts: 7,928
Default

Check /opt/zimbra/log/mailbox.log and look for a IP address you do not know; you may have a account that has been compromised.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 04-12-2010, 08:42 AM
Elite Member
 
Posts: 440
Default

Hi Uxbod...thanks for your reply..

Our customer domain which got used to send SPAM is example.com..

all users of this domain are internet users. So everytime IP is getting changed..i suspect one of the ID is keep changing IP from last 2 days..i put that account in Maintenance mode..

But the main issue is i am getting request from DIFFERENT public IPs ..( which are belong to diff countries) and its using example.com as domain but non exist email ID and receipeint is also invalid .....and all these getting stuck in my MTA ....

i couldnt understand logic behind it...how can use our mail server like this...wht kind of sender restriction I can put...or where should I check ...

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 04-12-2010, 08:48 AM
Moderator
 
Posts: 7,928
Default

Are you sure they are being sent from your server; and you are actually seeing backscatter ?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 04-12-2010, 09:05 AM
Elite Member
 
Posts: 440
Default

Yes I am sure ...just have alook at logs :
everything is getting stuck in MTA ....


pr 12 21:24:03 mail postfix/qmgr[22523]: 77A47133219A: from=<bftantamount@example.com>, status=expired, returned to sender
Apr 12 21:24:03 mail postfix/qmgr[22523]: 73FAC13392E6: from=<vqboarder@example.com>, status=expired, returned to sender
Apr 12 21:24:03 mail postfix/qmgr[22523]: 7239813322D0: from=<pporacle@example.com>, size=1464, nrcpt=1 (queue active)
Apr 12 21:24:03 mail postfix/qmgr[22523]: CCD5E1332EB1: from=<mglsatanic@example.com>, size=980, nrcpt=1 (queue active)
Apr 12 21:24:03 mail postfix/qmgr[22523]: 7FF1C133923A: from=<vieaglassware@example.com>, size=1491, nrcpt=1 (queue active)
Apr 12 21:24:03 mail postfix/qmgr[22523]: 7076D133BB84: from=<sueofalls@example.com>, size=1457, nrcpt=1 (queue active)
Apr 12 21:24:03 mail postfix/error[424]: B591ED4F46: to=<upcoutclass@example.com>, relay=none, delay=473, delays=473/0.01/0/0.01, dsn=5.0.0, status=bounced (example.com)
Apr 12 21:24:03 mail postfix/qmgr[22523]: CD442D54EF: from=<exoverdo@example.com>, size=1448, nrcpt=1 (queue active)
Apr 12 21:24:03 mail amavis[6316]: (06316-02) ESMTP::10024 /opt/zimbra/data/amavisd/tmp/amavis-20100412T212226-06316: <mglsatanic@example.com> -> <Richard-aka-tricky@hotmail.co.uk> SIZE=980 Received: from example.com ([127.0.0.1]) by localhost (example.com [127.0.0.1]) (amavisd-new, port 10024) with ESMTP for <Richard-aka-tricky@hotmail.co.uk>; Mon, 12 Apr 2010 21:24:03 +0530 (IST)
Apr 12 21:24:03 mail postfix/error[874]: 99658D6708: to=<kiftatting@example.com>, relay=none, delay=10633, delays=10633/0.01/0/0, dsn=5.0.0, status=bounced (example.com)
Apr 12 21:24:06 mail amavis[6316]: (06316-02) Checking: Kl0F88qPmKx2 [190.255.169.238] <mglsatanic@example.com> -> <Richard-aka-tricky@hotmail.co.uk>
Apr 12 21:24:06 mail postfix/qmgr[22523]: 7D53F1331283: from=<bjlepiscopacy@example.com>, size=1488, nrcpt=1 (queue active)
Apr 12 21:24:07 mail postfix/qmgr[22523]: 752DD13329E1: from=<yoseriocomic@example.com>, status=expired, returned to sender
Apr 12 21:24:07 mail postfix/qmgr[22523]: 74FA3133357B: from=<pbsvibration@example.com>, size=1430, nrcpt=1 (queue active)
Apr 12 21:24:07 mail postfix/smtpd[4762]: NOQUEUE: reject: RCPT from unknown[114.69.249.212]: 550 5.1.0 <parvinder@example.com>: Sender address rejected: example.com; from=<parvinder@example.com> to=<parvinder@example.com> proto=SMTP helo=<alppilux.fi>
Apr 12 21:24:07 mail postfix/qmgr[22523]: 242B5D49E4: from=<xhvddrowsy@example.com>, size=1401, nrcpt=1 (queue active)
Apr 12 21:24:07 mail postfix/qmgr[22523]: 7371413386CE: from=<xzjufascism@example.com>, size=1584, nrcpt=1 (queue active)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 04-12-2010, 09:21 AM
Moderator
 
Posts: 7,928
Default

If somebody is doing this from a client then you could track down who is signing in often using
Code:
cat mailbox.log | sed -n "s/.*btpool.*name=\(.*\);mid=.*;ip=.*;ua=ZimbraWebClient.*/\1/p" | sort | uniq -c
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 04-12-2010, 09:33 AM
Elite Member
 
Posts: 440
Default

I checked Uxbod...i m getting all geniune mail IDs in output...our all client using webmail + outlook...
My server got blacklisted at yahoo
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 04-12-2010, 09:41 AM
Elite Member
 
Posts: 440
Default

Do you need any specfic details regarding this issue ?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 04-12-2010, 09:52 AM
Moderator
 
Posts: 7,928
Default

Yes you may be getting genuine IDs but does one appear a lot higher than the rest ? if you users are using Outlook then it is possible one of them has a virus.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 04-12-2010, 10:03 AM
Elite Member
 
Posts: 440
Default

No there is no huge mail communication from geninue ID....Yes I accept there is 100 % possibility that cleint desktop might get affected by virus ...and this particular domain users are accesing from internet and data card ..and hardware is not managed by us ..so cant control the desktop level and client network level security...bu from the server end how we restrict it ...as it is affecting all other customer domains and mail server got blacklisted ...

I am googling from last few hours I reading on all sender and recipient level restrictions ..at least to stop / reject this mail communication...but still no luck ... :-(
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads

Why Join?

Registering let's you ask questions, makes it easier to search, displays any files attached to posts, and notifies you about replies.

blog.zimbra.com




 

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.