Zimbra offers Open Source email server software and shared calendar for Linux and the Mac
Go Back   Zimbra :: Forums > Zimbra Collaboration Suite > Administrators

Welcome to the Zimbra :: Forums!
Welcome, if you would like to post a comment please register. We also encourage you to explore all things Zimbra with our team and members of the community.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 03-17-2010, 03:44 AM
Active Member
 
Posts: 25
Arrow I can't disable X-Originating-IP

Because of the spam reason, I have to disable it. I go to Admin UI, uncheck "Add X-Originating-IP to mail header". I review the result by sending email to Yahoo/Gmail and view the full header. I still see the X-Originating-IP there.

I use Zimbra 5.0.18.

I appreciate for any help.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 03-17-2010, 04:33 AM
Moderator
 
Posts: 7,928
Default

Did you restart Zimbra after the change ?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 03-17-2010, 04:57 AM
Active Member
 
Posts: 25
Default

Yes. I restarted. But it still in the full mail header. Is it bug?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 03-18-2010, 07:57 PM
Active Member
 
Posts: 25
Default

Anyone has trouble like this?. Help me please.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 03-19-2010, 04:30 AM
Zimbra Consultant & Moderator
 
Posts: 20,313
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by z1mbra View Post
Anyone has trouble like this?.
I guess not.

You really need to show some evidence that what you're saying is actually what is happening. You should check the following setting:

Code:
zmprov gcf grep zimbraSmtpSendAddOriginatingIP
Run two tests, go to the admin UI and see if it's also the same setting (checked or unchecked) and send a test email and post the headers here (including the output of that command above). When you've done that, go to the admin UI and change the setting (either check it or uncheck it - set it to the opposite of the last test) and again post the output of the command above and send a test email and post the headers from that.

BTW, you don't need to restart Zimbra after the change is made, it takes effect immediately.
__________________
Regards


Bill
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 03-28-2010, 12:02 PM
Active Member
 
Posts: 25
Post

Phoenix,
Assume that, my email is luong.t@abc.com, receiver email is luong@gmail.com, my server mail.abc.com (ip is hidden).
Below is the header when un-checked Add X-Originating-IP:

Quote:
Delivered-To: luong@gmail.com
Received: by 10.231.174.134 with SMTP id t6cs43510ibz;
Sun, 28 Mar 2010 11:35:44 -0700 (PDT)
Received: by 10.229.192.10 with SMTP id do10mr2241201qcb.48.1269801343405;
Sun, 28 Mar 2010 11:35:43 -0700 (PDT)
Return-Path: <luong.t@abc.com>
Received: from mail.abc.com (mail.abc.com [xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx])
by mx.google.com with ESMTP id 31si6397599qyk.58.2010.03.28.11.35.41;
Sun, 28 Mar 2010 11:35:42 -0700 (PDT)
Received-SPF: pass (google.com: best guess record for domain of luong.t@abc.com designates xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx as permitted sender) client-ip=xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx;
Authentication-Results: mx.google.com; spf=pass (google.com: best guess record for domain of luong.t@abc.com designates xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx as permitted sender) smtp.mail=luong.t@abc.com
Received: from localhost (localhost.localdomain [127.0.0.1])
by mail.abc.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id 08EC821F7F4;
Mon, 29 Mar 2010 01:35:39 +0700 (ICT)
X-Virus-Scanned: amavisd-new at abc.com
Received: from mail.abc.com ([127.0.0.1])
by localhost (mail.abc.com [127.0.0.1]) (amavisd-new, port 10024)
with ESMTP id Jtgdb7idPy4G; Mon, 29 Mar 2010 01:35:36 +0700 (ICT)
Received: from luong (unknown [123.24.24.192])
by mail.abc.com (Postfix) with ESMTPSA id 3C9BF21F7F2;
Mon, 29 Mar 2010 01:35:30 +0700 (ICT)
And, when checked Add X-Originating-IP:
Quote:
Delivered-To: luong@gmail.com
Received: by 10.231.174.134 with SMTP id t6cs43596ibz;
Sun, 28 Mar 2010 11:41:34 -0700 (PDT)
Received: by 10.143.24.11 with SMTP id b11mr1583279wfj.347.1269801693724;
Sun, 28 Mar 2010 11:41:33 -0700 (PDT)
Return-Path: <luong.t@abc.com>
Received: from mail.abc.com (mail.abc.com [xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx])
by mx.google.com with ESMTP id 32si10516448pzk.58.2010.03.28.11.41.32;
Sun, 28 Mar 2010 11:41:33 -0700 (PDT)
Received-SPF: pass (google.com: best guess record for domain of luong.t@abc.com designates xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx as permitted sender) client-ip=xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx;
Authentication-Results: mx.google.com; spf=pass (google.com: best guess record for domain of luong.t@abc.com designates xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx as permitted sender) smtp.mail=luong.t@abc.com
Received: from localhost (localhost.localdomain [127.0.0.1])
by mail.abc.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id 77F7021F7FE
for <luong@gmail.com>; Mon, 29 Mar 2010 01:41:31 +0700 (ICT)
X-Virus-Scanned: amavisd-new at abc.com
Received: from mail.abc.com ([127.0.0.1])
by localhost (mail.abc.com [127.0.0.1]) (amavisd-new, port 10024)
with ESMTP id sgZOcajRz3xZ for <luong@gmail.com>;
Mon, 29 Mar 2010 01:41:31 +0700 (ICT)
Received: from luong (unknown [123.24.24.192])
by mail.abc.com (Postfix) with ESMTPSA id 10B3021F7FD
for <luong@gmail.com>; Mon, 29 Mar 2010 01:41:31 +0700 (ICT)
The output is not different. Do you/anyone know why?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 04-09-2010, 07:48 AM
Active Member
 
Posts: 25
Default

Anyone can help me about this issue? I appriciate any kind of help.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 04-09-2010, 08:16 AM
Zimbra Consultant & Moderator
 
Posts: 20,313
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by z1mbra View Post
Anyone can help me about this issue? I appriciate any kind of help.
I've already given you the command to check whether the x-originating-ip is set, or not, and you haven't said anything about that. I've also told you that you need to run the command I gave you before each test to see if the X-Originating-IP is set or not, you haven't done that (or at least you haven't posted any output from the command).

The title of this thread is "I can't disable X-Originating-IP ", neither of those headers you've posted have an X-Originating-IP in there. So, what exactly is the problem and what is it you want changing? I'm somewhat confused by what you're telling me.
__________________
Regards


Bill
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads

Why Join?

Registering let's you ask questions, makes it easier to search, displays any files attached to posts, and notifies you about replies.

blog.zimbra.com




 

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.