Zimbra offers Open Source email server software and shared calendar for Linux and the Mac
Go Back   Zimbra :: Forums > Zimbra Collaboration Suite > Administrators

Welcome to the Zimbra :: Forums!
Welcome, if you would like to post a comment please register. We also encourage you to explore all things Zimbra with our team and members of the community.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 03-01-2010, 07:46 AM
Intermediate Member
 
Posts: 15
Default [SOLVED] Spam email sent out by our email server

We are running Zimbra 6.01 OSE. Since yesterday we have huge amounts of outbound email that is sent by info@ups.com to bogus email accounts at yahoo, gmail and hotmail. We have now subsequently been blacklisted by these companies.

I have checked that the server is not a relay server as it has successfully passed the relay tests done by popular sites. I keep on deleting the emails in the queues on active and deferred, but they keep on adding up more and more. Is there any way for me to know how the spammer does this and to stop this from happening? Please help as this is causing us to be blacklisted everywhere.


Thank you.
Hennie

See below the header of one of the spam emails:

Return-Path: info@ups.com
Received: from zmail01.ourdomain.com (LHLO
zmail01.ourdomain.com) (10.0.0.18) by zmail01.ourdomain.com
with LMTP; Mon, 1 Mar 2010 14:47:42 +0200 (SAST)
Received: from localhost (localhost.localdomain [127.0.0.1])
by zmail01.ourdomain.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id 1E6A82FDE16C
for <xxxx@ourdomain.com>; Mon, 1 Mar 2010 14:47:42 +0200 (SAST)
X-Virus-Scanned: amavisd-new at zmail01.ourdomain.com
X-Spam-Flag: YES
X-Spam-Score: 11.369
X-Spam-Level: ***********
X-Spam-Status: Yes, score=11.369 tagged_above=-10 required=6.6
tests=[ADVANCE_FEE_2=1.234, ADVANCE_FEE_3=1.432, ALL_TRUSTED=-1.8,
AWL=-0.121, BAYES_99=3.5, FH_DATE_PAST_20XX=3.188,
FORGED_MUA_OUTLOOK=3.116, MSOE_MID_WRONG_CASE=0.82] autolearn=no
Received: from zmail01.ourdomain.com ([127.0.0.1])
by localhost (zmail01.ourdomain.com [127.0.0.1]) (amavisd-new, port 10024)
with ESMTP id ThUpEvun+3qL; Mon, 1 Mar 2010 14:47:41 +0200 (SAST)
Received: from User (unknown [195.245.108.36])
by zmail01.ourdomain.com (Postfix) with ESMTPA id 610E72FDE05A;
Mon, 1 Mar 2010 14:45:47 +0200 (SAST)
Reply-To: <ups.agent.ng1@gmail.com>
From: "UPS COURIER SERVICES."<info@ups.com>
Subject: Confirm Your Parcel With Us ASAP.
Date: Mon, 1 Mar 2010 12:50:18 -0000
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/plain;
charset="Windows-1251"
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
X-Priority: 3
X-MSMail-Priority: Normal
X-Mailer: Microsoft Outlook Express 6.00.2600.0000
X-MimeOLE: Produced By Microsoft MimeOLE V6.00.2600.0000
Message-Id: <20100301124550.610E72FDE05A@zmail01.ourdomain.com >
To: undisclosed-recipients:;

Subject: Confirm Your Parcel With Us ASAP.
From: Universal Parcel Service <info@ups.com.ng>
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 03-01-2010, 08:05 AM
Moderator
 
Posts: 7,928
Default

Welcome to the forums

Check /opt/zimbra/log/audit.log and look for erroneous activity. I would imagine that one of your accounts may have been compromised due to poor password complexity.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 03-01-2010, 08:06 AM
Moderator
 
Posts: 7,928
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hennie View Post
FH_DATE_PAST_20XX=3.188
On a side note you should also fix that problem : [SOLVED] FH_DATE_PAST_20XX - Spamassassin bug - incorrect tagging from Jan 1, 2010 on
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 03-01-2010, 10:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 205
Default

Check other system logs.

who was using ip 195.245.109.36 at 14:45:47?

Code:
Received: from User (unknown [195.245.108.36])
by zmail01.ourdomain.com (Postfix) with ESMTPA id 610E72FDE05A;
Mon, 1 Mar 2010 14:45:47 +0200 (SAST)
That is your problem machine/user.

I'd hazard a guess that 192.245.109.* is in your "mynetworks"

Last edited by jrefl5; 03-01-2010 at 10:23 AM.. Reason: added mynetworks comment
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 03-01-2010, 12:34 PM
Intermediate Member
 
Posts: 15
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by uxbod View Post
Welcome to the forums

Check /opt/zimbra/log/audit.log and look for erroneous activity. I would imagine that one of your accounts may have been compromised due to poor password complexity.
Hi Uxbod, thank you for the advice. I have checked the audit.log files and could not find anything "strange". Could you perhaps explain a way how I could see what account has been compromised? It seems like mail gets sent randomly from 10.0.0.18, which is internal IP of the mail server.

I have also checked auth.log, but cannot see the 195.245.108.36 anywhere? I would really appreciate your help here.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 03-01-2010, 12:44 PM
raj raj is offline
Moderator
 
Posts: 768
Default

post the output of the following command

Quote:
su - zimbra
zmprov gs `zmhostname` | grep zimbraMtaMyNetworks
it will show your mynetworks..

Raj
__________________
i2k2 Networks
Dedicated & Shared Zimbra Hosting Provider
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 03-01-2010, 12:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 205
Default

Check your networks DCHP server, for the 192.245.109.36 address and where it was assigned.

you need to track back to the source PC.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 03-01-2010, 02:01 PM
Intermediate Member
 
Posts: 15
Default

Hi All,

I have seen many of the following entries in the mail.log file:
client=unknown[196.245.109.36], sasl_method=LOGIN, sasl_username=spam

Could it be that the spam account have been compromised? If so, can I just change the password of the spam account?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 03-01-2010, 04:03 PM
raj raj is offline
Moderator
 
Posts: 768
Default

change password for SPAM user asap and also if your password was same for other accounts change those too..
this is a very common problem where simple passwords are guessed by spammers and then they can SMTP AUTH using your server and RELAY unlimited mail.

sasl_username=spam --> means spammer is using this account with authentication using your password

Raj
__________________
i2k2 Networks
Dedicated & Shared Zimbra Hosting Provider
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 03-02-2010, 05:14 AM
Junior Member
 
Posts: 8
Default

All of the suggestions above are great, but we would also recommend scanning all local work stations and the mail server with Spybot Search & Destory, Ad-Aware and Malwarebytes Anti-Malware; these are all free from Cnet Downloads (download.cnet.com). This group of software is specifically designed to find virus/trojan activity that your typical anti-virus program misses.

Also if you are listed on any Blacklists we would recommend finding the source of the spam before you try to remove yourself. If you attempt to remove yourself before the issue is resolved Blacklists may re-list you and each time you delist it is more difficult to actually get removed. To check if you are Blacklisted, we would recommend using our Blacklist Tool.

Please let us know if you have any other problems and we will be glad to assist.

Thank you,
@MxToolBox
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads

Why Join?

Registering let's you ask questions, makes it easier to search, displays any files attached to posts, and notifies you about replies.

blog.zimbra.com




 

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.