Zimbra offers Open Source email server software and shared calendar for Linux and the Mac
Go Back   Zimbra :: Forums > Zimbra Collaboration Suite > Administrators

Welcome to the Zimbra :: Forums!
Welcome, if you would like to post a comment please register. We also encourage you to explore all things Zimbra with our team and members of the community.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 02-19-2010, 07:50 AM
New Member
 
Posts: 4
Default Spamassassin - check return-path against from address

I am getting a lot of spam recently that I am having a hard time getting flagged by spamassassin. We have enabled SPF checking and it works but I think these emails are getting through because the return-path is not from my domain.

Is there a way to get spamassassin to flag an email if the return-path and from field do not match?

Return-Path: stakespv07@scottiecd.com
Received: from 201.17.156.59 by smtp.secureserver.net; Fri, 19 Feb 2010
From: user@mydomain.com
Subject: Very urgent
To: <user@mydomain.com>
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 02-23-2010, 12:18 PM
New Member
 
Posts: 4
Default

So I guess nobody else is getting hammered with spam like this???
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 02-24-2010, 12:03 AM
Moderator
 
Posts: 7,928
Default

Are you able to post more of the headers so we can see what rules are being hit ? Are you using any RBLs at all ?

If you have setup your SPF records then you could use
Code:
whitelist_auth *@example.com
in your SA local configuration.
__________________

Last edited by uxbod; 02-24-2010 at 12:09 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 02-24-2010, 02:32 AM
Moderator
 
Posts: 7,928
Default

Also, have a read of my last post in SPAM sourced from virtual domain user to same user.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 03-15-2010, 11:00 AM
Starter Member
 
Posts: 2
Default

lunarj565, I faced recently the same problem, having lots of phishing email originating from HotMail users (with correct return-paths, thus passing SPF check) but with From and Reply-to set to ...@blizzard.com.

I wrote this simple plugin: Perl | package FromNotReturnPath; us - Ivan Korotkov - 0m9CYxzV - Pastebin.com (based on SpamAssassin samples)

Save it to /etc/spamassassin/plugins. To use it, add new .pre-file to /etc/spamassassin with following content:

Code:
loadplugin FromNotReturnPath plugins/FromNotReturnPath.pm
header FROM_NOT_RETURN_PATH eval:check_for_from_not_return_path()
describe FROM_NOT_RETURN_PATH From: does not match Return-path:
Then you can set FROM_NOT_RETURN_PATH's score in local.cf as usual.

I'd recommend using it in conjunction with spamming domain (because, technically, return-path does not always equal From even in legitimate e-mail; maillists are counter-example). I use it as follows:

Code:
header __FROM_BLIZZARD  From =~ /\@blizzard\.com/i
meta FAKE_BLIZZARD_ANNOUNCE (__FROM_BLIZZARD && FROM_NOT_RETURN_PATH)
describe FAKE_BLIZZARD_ANNOUNCE Fake mail from Blizzard account management

score FAKE_BLIZZARD_ANNOUNCE 40.0
(high score is needed to outweigh SPF_PASS).
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 03-15-2010, 11:40 AM
Moderator
 
Posts: 7,928
Default

Welcome to the forums

Nice plugin Have you submitted that to the SA team for inclusion in 3.3.0 ?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 03-15-2010, 02:15 PM
Starter Member
 
Posts: 2
Default

It's almost same as a sample from their wiki (FromNotReplyTo - Spamassassin Wiki), just Reply-to replaced with Return-path, so I don't think they really need it
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 03-30-2010, 02:25 AM
Member
 
Posts: 11
Default

Hello all,

I have the same problem, since few weeks my Zimbra server receive a lot of blizzard spam every days :-(

How can I use your plugins in Zimbra for tag or stop this fishing mail please ?

Thanks in advance !!!

Davy
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 03-30-2010, 02:33 AM
Moderator
 
Posts: 7,928
Default

Ivan has already provided the perl script and the necessary changes you need to make to salocal.cf
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 09-14-2010, 12:18 AM
New Member
 
Posts: 3
Default

in salocal.conf.in
-------------

header BLK_3 From =~ /ravi\.wi\@gmail\.com/
score BLK_3 2


I am trying to score my gmail account , Is there something wrong i am doing here . it doesnt hit the rule .
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads

Why Join?

Registering let's you ask questions, makes it easier to search, displays any files attached to posts, and notifies you about replies.

blog.zimbra.com




 

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.