Zimbra offers Open Source email server software and shared calendar for Linux and the Mac
Go Back   Zimbra :: Forums > Zimbra Collaboration Suite > Administrators

Welcome to the Zimbra :: Forums!
Welcome, if you would like to post a comment please register. We also encourage you to explore all things Zimbra with our team and members of the community.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 01-29-2010, 12:24 PM
Intermediate Member
 
Posts: 21
Default Tested from Outside and still doing HELO-SPAM

#] telnet smtp.mydomain.com.br

220 smtp.mydomain.com.br ESMTP Postfix
helo none.net
250 smtp.mydomain.com.br
mail from:user@none.net
250 2.1.0 Ok
rcpt to:victim@hotmail.com
250 2.1.5 Ok
Data
354 End data with <CR><LF>.<CR><LF>
Teste de SPAMMER
.
250 2.0.0 Ok: queued as C277A6C029



That really suckx, hun? =\


ps:. i've done that zimbra-user restart and it was everything okay.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 01-29-2010, 12:27 PM
Intermediate Member
 
Posts: 21
Default

As u wish, sir! =)

---
smtp:/# su - zimbra
zimbra@smtp:~$
zimbra@smtp:~$ zmprov gs `zmhostname` zimbraMtaMyNetworks
# name smtp.mydomain.com.br
zimbraMtaMyNetworks: 127.0.0.0/8 192.168.0.0/24
-----


and now what? =}
zimbra@smtp:~$
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 01-29-2010, 12:34 PM
Moderator
 
Posts: 7,928
Default

Do you have any others hosts relaying through your Zimbra server ? If not then remove the 192.168.0.0 IP range.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 01-29-2010, 12:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 205
Default

I had a same problem when I initialy setup my zimbra server;

I did the following as the zimbra user;
Code:
#!/bin/bash
ServerName="Your.mail.server.name"
# list current settings
zmprov gas -v | grep MyNetwork
# make the change
#note that zimbra is 10.168.30.60, the other 10.168.30.nn addresses use
# the zimbra server as a "SMART HOST" from sendmail
# this sets only limited servers as "TRUSTED"
# My firewall at the time masked the external address of all incoming 
#connections as its 10.168.30.* address   

zmprov modifyserver $ServerName zimbraMtaMyNetworks '127.0.0.0/8 10.168.30.60/32 10.168.30.7/32 10.168.30.22/32'
As the comments indicate some firewalls nat the external address to the Firewalls internal nic's IP, so in your case if you have 192.168.0.0/24 everything is part of your "TRUSTED NETWORK".

Last edited by jrefl5; 01-29-2010 at 12:38 PM.. Reason: add test
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 01-29-2010, 12:35 PM
Intermediate Member
 
Posts: 21
Default More RELAY TESTS

Testing my relay in other sites - mxtoolbox


Results:
----------------------------------------------

220 smtp.cymimasa.com.br ESMTP Postfix


[ALERT] May be an open relay.
[OK] 0 seconds - Good on Connection time
[OK] 0.671 seconds - Good on Transaction time
[OK] OK - ***.***.***.165 resolves to smtp.mydomain.com.br
[OK] OK - Reverse DNS matches SMTP Banner

Session Transcript:
HELO please-read-policy.mxtoolbox.com
250 smtp.mydomain.com.br [156 ms]
MAIL FROM: <supertool@mxtoolbox.com>
250 2.1.0 Ok [172 ms]
RCPT TO: <test@example.com>
250 2.1.5 Ok [187 ms]
QUIT
221 2.0.0 Bye [156 ms]
reverse lookup smtp diag port scan blacklist

Reported by mxtoolbox.com on Friday, January 29, 2010 at 2:30:48 PM

--------------------------


Thnkx again,

Daniel Nascimento
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 01-29-2010, 12:38 PM
Intermediate Member
 
Posts: 21
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by uxbod View Post
Do you have any others hosts relaying through your Zimbra server ? If not then remove the 192.168.0.0 IP range.
I surrely cannot do that, 'cause this range is the only ip settled in my MTA Server. And, just for testing it - when i try to do that - Zimbra complains and don't allow me to remove that range.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 01-29-2010, 12:44 PM
Intermediate Member
 
Posts: 21
Default Re-painting the Scenery

a New map:



[ WORLD WIDE WEB ]
|
|___ {my ISP } ***.***.***.161 = router IP

|
| ***.***.***.165
[ FIREWALL ]
|192.168.0.1/24
|
[ and now- cry -> SERVERS AND USER'S LAN! ] 192.168.0.0/24
[ including my MTA - 192.168.0.4 ]



And that's why i THINK I 'm getting trough with OPEN RELAY - 'cause the old Sys Admin's don't care too much to create a DMZ and figures that putting everything on the same lan IP address was great. -.-'

DMZ - is this the most-like solution? Well - putting my SERVERS on another range to disable routed IP to allow into the trusted network? like 172.16 ? and make only a trust net inside that?

Thnkx a Lot!!!!!!!

=D
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 01-29-2010, 12:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 205
Default

NAscimento,
if you use the command in the code above and change it to read;
zmprov modifyserver $ServerName zimbraMtaMyNetworks '127.0.0.0/8 192.169.0.IP/32'
where IP is the address of your zimbra server it should help, and will work.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 01-29-2010, 12:59 PM
Intermediate Member
 
Posts: 21
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jrefl5 View Post
NAscimento,
if you use the command in the code above and change it to read;
zmprov modifyserver $ServerName zimbraMtaMyNetworks '127.0.0.0/8 192.169.0.IP/32'
where IP is the address of your zimbra server it should help, and will work.
THNK U SOOO MUCH - by the time you are replying that, i've solved by your request.


220 smtp.mydomain.com.br ESMTP Postfix
helo spammer.org
250 smtp.mydomain.com.br
mail from:spammer@spammer.org
250 2.1.0 Ok
rcpt to:crynow@hotmail.com
554 5.7.1 <crynow@hotmail.com>: Relay access denied

Muito obrigado!
Very thnkx!

Daniel Nascimento
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads

Why Join?

Registering let's you ask questions, makes it easier to search, displays any files attached to posts, and notifies you about replies.

blog.zimbra.com




 

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.