Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Installing an existing commercial wildcard SSL certificate

kingark is offline New Member

Default Installing an existing commercial wildcard SSL certificate

I might be missing something here but as a total novice with SSL certificates I can not find what I am looking to do in any previous posts.

We have a wildcard SSL certificate that is installed on several other linux servers (server1.mydomain.com, server2.mydomain.com) and now want to have it cover the mail server (mail.mydomain.com), having the certificate generated somewhere else to cover the *.mydomain.com I do not need to generate a csr on the Zimbra server but there seems to be no way to install a commercial cert with out initiating a csr first.

This is where I am lost, can I use this wildcard with Zimbra?
    I am playing withe the cert on a open source version 6.0.4 but will eventually move it onto our production network edition 6.0.4 both RHEL4_64

Not even sure what other info to tell, any help is much appreciated in advance.

Dave

bdial is offline Moderator

you need to use the command line zmcertmgr there should be info on Main Page - Zimbra :: Wiki about it. basically you just need to install the cert and intermediary without the whole csr step.

vbn
    vbn is offline Active Member

In our setup we move our key, csr and crt files to the servers to deploy.
    Assuming you have a wildcard SSL Cert and are deploying without re-keying it with the authority, the following should work. (This is on ver 6.0.4 Open)

As root -

mkdir /root/certs
    * move your keyfile, csrfile and crtfile here *
    * also required will be a bundle crt file from your CA *

cp bundlecrt commercial_ca.crt
    cp crtfile commercial.crt
    cp keyfile commercial.key

cp commercial.key /opt/zimbra/ssl/zimbra
    mv commercial.key /opt/zimbra/ssl/zimbra/commercial

/opt/zimbra/bin/zmcertmgr verifycrt comm /opt/zimbra/ssl/zimbra/commercial.key commercial.crt commercial_ca.crt