Zimbra offers Open Source email server software and shared calendar for Linux and the Mac
Go Back   Zimbra :: Forums > Zimbra Collaboration Suite > Administrators

Welcome to the Zimbra :: Forums!
Welcome, if you would like to post a comment please register. We also encourage you to explore all things Zimbra with our team and members of the community.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12-08-2009, 08:25 AM
Junior Member
 
Posts: 9
Default [SOLVED] Zimbra Sending Mail with Incorrect Header

My mail is bouncing back from some clients with the following (identifying information struck out):

<abcd@efgh.org>: host
mxi5p.efgh.org[xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx] said: 554 5.7.1
<unknown[xxx.xxx.xxx.58]>: Client host rejected:
rDNS/DNS_validation_failed._Please_setup_matching_DNS_a nd_rDNS_records:_http://www.efgh.org/about/help/rdns_failure
xabd-4 (in reply to RCPT TO command)

The problem is that my server's IP address is not xxx.xxx.xxx.58.

It's xxx.xxx.xxx.61

My hosts file reflects this, and both forward and reverse DNS checks show the correct IP, and hostname.

The server used to be at .58, but was moved a while back.

I haven't been able to find any way to correct this, and it is a major pain in the butt.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12-08-2009, 08:29 AM
Zimbra Consultant & Moderator
 
Posts: 20,312
Default

Well, without some confirmation from you that your external (and internal) DNS records are correct it's difficult to contradict the error you're receiving. I'm guessing that the error is probably correct and your DNS is not set correctly with a reverse DNS etc.... as per the error message.
__________________
Regards


Bill
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12-08-2009, 08:35 AM
Junior Member
 
Posts: 9
Default Confirmation?

What do you mean by that?

I stated in the original thread that I had already checked the DNS, both forward and reverse. Forward resolves to the correct IP address, and reverse returns the fqdn of the server.

I just ran a DNSReport [www.dnsstuff.com] again... Everything is checking out.


Internal DNS was checked as well....



Below are the headers of an email sent from my server to a yahoo.com address -- as you can see, the server is reporting an incorrect IP address.
---------------------------------------------------------------------------
X-Apparently-To: id_removed@yahoo.com via 98.137.27.199; Tue, 08 Dec 2009 08:42:04 -0800
Return-Path: <me@domain.com>
X-YahooFilteredBulk: xxx.xxx.xxx.58
X-YMailISG: bMK3n7MWLDusBvbyW9dPHZH1IIarPn_rDWgbGNlWtSscd0f_02 UC4n2pKxSw6KSA_.tTh7aB8YjWkq6rHE_Th7lKByuu9iY_Sv9Y ZGXJxqpKiQJaoSH.XUiGdNhe51DJDExdffSe65DYWcGZAYDZY1 9g3YsjlSag6gUpBadnM8gqusS7LXVl0WGZ9_yELBTx7ll88gBf m6U7N.k75SSonUlb60.E597445Kgbuu_qQLTgXPzHG7rxkKWE. o4t61sjl9NisOqdQTMGZDTgRDqcThI_xn.kD58Ri6ukFc105Bw B8VwnUnTRKSMo9gPGFPbQVnMrgn.iMzr2n0oaTSbyL8NteDI67 4WUMBDUSU-
X-Originating-IP: [xxx.xxx.xxx.58]
Authentication-Results: mta1017.mail.re4.yahoo.com from=mydomain.com; domainkeys=neutral (no sig); from=mydomain.com; dkim=neutral (no sig)
Received: from 127.0.0.1 (EHLO (correct-zimbra-fqdn) (xxx.xxx.xxx.58) by mta1017.mail.re4.yahoo.com with SMTP; Tue, 08 Dec 2009 08:42:04 -0800
Received: from localhost (localhost.localdomain [127.0.0.1]) by correct-zimbra-fqdn (Postfix) with ESMTP id 8708823021C for <id_removed@yahoo.com>; Tue, 8 Dec 2009 11:41:59 -0500 (EST)
X-Virus-Scanned: amavisd-new at
X-Spam-Flag: NO
X-Spam-Score: -4.236
X-Spam-Level:
X-Spam-Status: No, score=-4.236 tagged_above=-10 required=4 tests=[ALL_TRUSTED=-1.8, AWL=0.162, BAYES_00=-2.599, HTML_MESSAGE=0.001]
Received: from correct-zimbra-fqdn ([127.0.0.1]) by localhost (correct-zimbra-fqdn [127.0.0.1]) (amavisd-new, port 10024) with ESMTP id BIypdftHPNyZ for <id_removed@yahoo.com>; Tue, 8 Dec 2009 11:41:58 -0500 (EST)
Received: from correct-zimbra-fqdn (correct-zimbra-fqdn [xxx.xxx.xxx.61]) by correct-zimbra-fqdn (Postfix) with ESMTP id C0F5923021B for <id_removed@yahoo.com>; Tue, 8 Dec 2009 11:41:58 -0500 (EST)
Date: Tue, 8 Dec 2009 11:41:58 -0500 (EST)
From: "Me" <me@domain.com>
Add sender to Contacts
Reply-To: "Me" <me@domain.com>
To: asim1229 <id_removed@yahoo.com>
Message-ID: <1566281.241260290518402.JavaMail.root@host.domain .com>
Subject: Test
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: multipart/alternative; boundary="----=_Part_9_10467510.1260290518401"
X-Originating-IP: [192.168.81.109]
X-Mailer: Zimbra 5.0.9_GA_2533.RHEL5 (ZimbraWebClient - FF3.0 (Win)/5.0.9_GA_2533.RHEL5)
Content-Length: 1610

Last edited by bfillmore75; 12-08-2009 at 09:07 AM.. Reason: Adding supplemental information
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12-08-2009, 08:50 AM
Zimbra Consultant & Moderator
 
Posts: 20,312
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bfillmore75 View Post
What do you mean by that?
What I mean is, you wouldn't believe how many times people say 'x' is true when it isn't. I'm sure you have checked it but I have no confirmation that what you say is valid (i.e. you haven't given any information from your checks) and in those circumstances I have to accept that the receiving mail server is checking your records correctly. If that's not the case and you're 100% convinced that everything at your end is correct then you should contact the admin of the receiving server and ask why he's rejecting your email with that particular error.

BTW, you've also given no evidence to show that the email is being sent with incorrect headers (as mentioned in the thread title).
__________________
Regards


Bill
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12-08-2009, 10:07 PM
Outstanding Member
 
Posts: 594
Default

Hi BfillMore , it might be the case that your new DNS record is not yet populated, which seems to be difficult as nowadays DNS changes takes few hrs for replicate. Try reducing your TTL in DNS to something low value.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 12-11-2009, 02:05 PM
Moderator
 
Posts: 1,147
Default

My guess would be from the error you posted that your Zimbra server is behind a NAT/Firewall and that the "main" address that most outgoing connections come from is xxx.xxx.xxx.58. You should review your NAT rules to make sure that outgoing connections from your Zimbra server show as coming from xxx.xxx.xxx.61 and not the main address your NAT usually uses for outgoing addresses.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 12-22-2009, 07:02 AM
Junior Member
 
Posts: 9
Red face NAT rules

Although this server was in a DMZ with a public IP, and there is absolutely no reason for it to have existed. I did a sanity check of the NAT rules, and found that one had been stuck in there.

It was natting from one public IP to another public IP.

Bizarre.

However, removing it DID resolve the problem.

Thanks for having me check the ridiculous, ArcaneMagus. That was the problem.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 12-22-2009, 07:08 AM
Zimbra Consultant & Moderator
 
Posts: 20,312
Default

OK, fix your hosts file by removing the 127.0.1.1 line then run the following commands on your Zimbra server and post the output:

Code:
cat /etc/hosts
cat /etc/resolv.conf
dig yourdomain.com mx
dig yourdomain.com any
host `hostname`  <- use that exact command with backticks not single quotes
__________________
Regards


Bill
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads

Why Join?

Registering let's you ask questions, makes it easier to search, displays any files attached to posts, and notifies you about replies.

blog.zimbra.com




 

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.