Zimbra offers Open Source email server software and shared calendar for Linux and the Mac
Go Back   Zimbra :: Forums > Zimbra Collaboration Suite > Administrators

Welcome to the Zimbra :: Forums!
Welcome, if you would like to post a comment please register. We also encourage you to explore all things Zimbra with our team and members of the community.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10-25-2009, 12:23 AM
Elite Member
 
Posts: 347
Default Hotmail sending issuse..

hi all.. i ahve done a fresh install of zimbra and i am using a dynamic IP..

i have followed this : Outgoing SMTP Authentication - Zimbra :: Wiki

and hotmail still gives me :

host mx4.hotmail.com[65.55.37.120] said: 550
DY-001 Mail rejected by Windows Live Hotmail for policy reasons. We
generally do not accept email from dynamic IP's as they are not typically
used to deliver unauthenticated SMTP e-mail to an Internet mail server.
The Spamhaus Project maintains lists of dynamic and residential IP
addresses. If you are not an email/network admin please contact your
E-mail/Internet Service Provider for help. Email/network admins, please
visit MSN Postmaster for email delivery information and support

any ideas what i have wrong ?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10-25-2009, 03:22 AM
Active Member
 
Posts: 29
Default

Thats because you are using a dynamic IP and that IP might be in the Spam block list of Spamhaus. If you want to verify your self you can check it from this page

http://www.spamhaus.org/lookup.lasso
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10-25-2009, 04:16 AM
Moderator
 
Posts: 1,147
Default

It looks like either your relay is listed in the dynamic IP list (highly unlikely), or your server is not properly forwarding it. Can you post the headers of the message attached to that bounce message? This should show the path the message took from your server to the hotmail servers.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10-25-2009, 08:39 AM
Elite Member
 
Posts: 347
Default

Received: from handsofhelp.no-ip.org (LHLO handsofhelp.no-ip.org)
(192.168.254.10) by handsofhelp.no-ip.org with LMTP; Sun, 25 Oct 2009
03:03:57 -0400 (AST)
Received: by handsofhelp.no-ip.org (Postfix)
id CC91F40907EA; Sun, 25 Oct 2009 03:03:57 -0400 (AST)
Date: Sun, 25 Oct 2009 03:03:57 -0400 (AST)
From: MAILER-DAEMON@handsofhelp.no-ip.org (Mail Delivery System)
Subject: Undelivered Mail Returned to Sender
To: andreb@handsofhelpfoundation.org
Auto-Submitted: auto-replied
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: multipart/report; report-type=delivery-status;
boundary="DEFF340907E9.1256454237/handsofhelp.no-ip.org"
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
Message-Id: <20091025070357.CC91F40907EA@handsofhelp.no-ip.org>

This is a MIME-encapsulated message.

--DEFF340907E9.1256454237/handsofhelp.no-ip.org
Content-Description: Notification
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=us-ascii

This is the mail system at host handsofhelp.no-ip.org.

I'm sorry to have to inform you that your message could not
be delivered to one or more recipients. It's attached below.

For further assistance, please send mail to postmaster.

If you do so, please include this problem report. You can
delete your own text from the attached returned message.

The mail system

<andre_bunting@hotmail.com>: host mx4.hotmail.com[65.55.37.120] said: 550
DY-001 Mail rejected by Windows Live Hotmail for policy reasons. We
generally do not accept email from dynamic IP's as they are not typically
used to deliver unauthenticated SMTP e-mail to an Internet mail server.
The Spamhaus Project maintains lists of dynamic and residential IP
addresses. If you are not an email/network admin please contact your
E-mail/Internet Service Provider for help. Email/network admins, please
visit MSN Postmaster for email delivery information and support
(in reply to MAIL FROM command)

--DEFF340907E9.1256454237/handsofhelp.no-ip.org
Content-Description: Delivery report
Content-Type: message/delivery-status

Reporting-MTA: dns; handsofhelp.no-ip.org
X-Postfix-Queue-ID: DEFF340907E9
X-Postfix-Sender: rfc822; andreb@handsofhelpfoundation.org
Arrival-Date: Sun, 25 Oct 2009 03:03:56 -0400 (AST)

Final-Recipient: rfc822; andre_bunting@hotmail.com
Original-Recipient: rfc822;andre_bunting@hotmail.com
Action: failed
Status: 5.0.0
Remote-MTA: dns; mx4.hotmail.com
Diagnostic-Code: smtp; 550 DY-001 Mail rejected by Windows Live Hotmail for
policy reasons. We generally do not accept email from dynamic IP's as they
are not typically used to deliver unauthenticated SMTP e-mail to an
Internet mail server. The Spamhaus Project maintains lists of dynamic
and residential IP addresses. If you are not an email/network admin please
contact your E-mail/Internet Service Provider for help. Email/network
admins, please visit MSN Postmaster for email delivery
information and support

--DEFF340907E9.1256454237/handsofhelp.no-ip.org
Content-Description: Undelivered Message
Content-Type: message/rfc822
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit

Return-Path: <andreb@handsofhelpfoundation.org>
Received: from localhost (localhost.localdomain [127.0.0.1])
by handsofhelp.no-ip.org (Postfix) with ESMTP id DEFF340907E9;
Sun, 25 Oct 2009 03:03:56 -0400 (AST)
X-Virus-Scanned: amavisd-new at handsofhelp.no-ip.org
Received: from handsofhelp.no-ip.org ([127.0.0.1])
by localhost (handsofhelp.no-ip.org [127.0.0.1]) (amavisd-new, port 10024)
with ESMTP id QZ3oz4aBh7no; Sun, 25 Oct 2009 03:03:56 -0400 (AST)
Received: from handsofhelp.no-ip.org (handsofhelp.no-ip.org [192.168.254.10])
by handsofhelp.no-ip.org (Postfix) with ESMTP id 28F9440907E8;
Sun, 25 Oct 2009 03:03:56 -0400 (AST)
Date: Sun, 25 Oct 2009 03:03:55 -0400 (AST)
From: Andre Bunting <andreb@handsofhelpfoundation.org>
To: andre_bunting@hotmail.com
Cc: andre_bunting@yahoo.com
Message-ID: <674902017.12.1256454235247.JavaMail.root@handsofh elp.no-ip.org>
Subject: last test
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=utf-8
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
X-Originating-IP: [192.168.254.5]
X-Mailer: Zimbra 6.0.2_GA_1912.RHEL5_64 (ZimbraWebClient - FF3.0 (Win)/6.0.2_GA_1912.RHEL5_64)

hope this works.

--DEFF340907E9.1256454237/handsofhelp.no-ip.org--
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10-26-2009, 05:41 AM
Active Member
 
Posts: 29
Default

From the above I see that you domain is handsofhelpfoundation.org is right ?. If so then your Mx record says your mailserver has the IP 174.120.1.162. When I check that IP in Spamhaus it says that IP is clean. Dynamic IP's are listed under Spamhaus PBL.

Strange why hotmail rejects your message. From one of my Zimbra installations Hotmail accepts the mail but usually puts it in the junk folder of the user.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 10-26-2009, 10:17 AM
Moderator
 
Posts: 1,147
Default

I'm not entirely sure if the method you are trying to setup will leave this in the message but this might be your problem:
Reporting-MTA: dns; handsofhelp.no-ip.org
That seems to show the mail as having come from a dynamic DNS setup, which would have been blocked. Your domain has a valid static IP address though (as shown by priyadarsanroy), why are you not just using that rather then attempting to relay your mail through an external server?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 10-26-2009, 11:30 AM
Elite Member
 
Posts: 347
Default

Its for a home server that the company ceo has.... they having issues checking mail via the online mail service at my present host.. so i setup this zimbra box for them..

Is there anyway around this ?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads

Why Join?

Registering let's you ask questions, makes it easier to search, displays any files attached to posts, and notifies you about replies.

blog.zimbra.com




 

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.