Zimbra offers Open Source email server software and shared calendar for Linux and the Mac
Go Back   Zimbra :: Forums > Zimbra Collaboration Suite > Administrators

Welcome to the Zimbra :: Forums!
Welcome, if you would like to post a comment please register. We also encourage you to explore all things Zimbra with our team and members of the community.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10-21-2009, 04:23 AM
New Member
 
Posts: 3
Default Spam From my zimbra server

Hi,

I have problems with spam.
Our server Zimbra makes spamming other servers including yahoo.com.tw.
The relay is disabled, but we've noticed that you can connect with clients through all'smtp authenticate a valid user even POP access has been disabled.

You have no idea how to solve?

Release 5.0.18_GA_3011.DEBIAN4.0 DEBIAN4.0 FOSS edition
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10-21-2009, 04:36 AM
Moderator
 
Posts: 7,928
Default

Welcome to the forums

Sorry not really following what you are saying ? You mention relay is disabled; do you mean that you have checked to ensure you are not a open-relay ? If you are using SMTP authentication then it must be someone who knows the credentials.

Would you be able to expand on the issue you are seeing please ?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10-22-2009, 05:57 AM
New Member
 
Posts: 3
Default

the problem is that my postmaster account send many mail to somo domain such as yahoo.com.tw .

Anyidea to solve this problem?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10-22-2009, 08:56 AM
Moderator
 
Posts: 7,928
Default

Would you post a example please including the headers ? Also check that your server is not a open relay :-

Mail relay testing
SpamHelp.org SMTP Open Relay Test
Email Server Test - Online SMTP diagnostics tool - MxToolbox
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10-23-2009, 02:13 AM
New Member
 
Posts: 3
Default

I have verify the open relay at Mail relay testing , the result is

Relay test result
All tests performed, no relays accepted.

an exemple email is


CO 258 239 1 0 258T^P12562022
91 79621A^Vcreate_time=1256202291A^Xlog_message_origi n=localA^Otrace_flags=256S^Wpostmaster@
mail.vol2.itO^Udk520.tw@yahoo.com.twR^Udk520.tw@ya hoo.com.twM^@N#Received: by mydomain (
Postfix)N8 id 136C6C780647; Thu, 22 Oct 2009 11:04:51 +0200 (CEST)N,Date: Thu, 22 Oct 2009
11:04:51 +0200 (CEST)N6Message-Id: <20091022090451.136C6C780647@mail.vol2.it>N^]From: postma
ster@mail.mydomain N^\To: undisclosed-recipients:;X^@E^@


tnk for you time
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 10-23-2009, 02:30 AM
Moderator
 
Posts: 7,928
Default

Cannot make that out ... please just copy and paste from /var/log/zimbra.log ... have you enabled NDR to be sent ? are you getting emails coming in from Yahoo to non-existent accounts on your server ?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 10-23-2009, 02:38 AM
Zimbra Consultant & Moderator
 
Posts: 20,312
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kasteddaio View Post
I have verify the open relay at Mail relay testing , the result is

Relay test result
All tests performed, no relays accepted.
If you're not an open relay then your problem lies elsewhere. You might, for instance, have infected machines on your LAN - are any of the Windows machines?
__________________
Regards


Bill
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads

Why Join?

Registering let's you ask questions, makes it easier to search, displays any files attached to posts, and notifies you about replies.

blog.zimbra.com




 

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.