Zimbra offers Open Source email server software and shared calendar for Linux and the Mac
Go Back   Zimbra :: Forums > Zimbra Collaboration Suite > Administrators

Welcome to the Zimbra :: Forums!
Welcome, if you would like to post a comment please register. We also encourage you to explore all things Zimbra with our team and members of the community.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 07-17-2009, 12:34 AM
Loyal Member
 
Posts: 81
Default Spam problem on a new installation

I just installed a new Zimbra (.18) for testing purposes on a branch office internal LAN network behind a firewall. I then opened a hole on the firewall on port 25 to test the installation. It worked. Today I find that lots of spam has been sent from that server (from yahoo.com.tw address mostly) even though It's only a day old and there has not been a mail server at that IP address previously. How is that possible? What can I do to block the hole?

The mail server has the same name in DNS and host file.
The mail server Internal network address is 10.10.x.y
The mail server External network address is 217.25.x.y
Firewall has NIC's & addresses on both networks.



PS. The Joomla based PHP mailing component that I tested uses SMTP authentication with username and password.
How can I see if the spam has come that way?
__________________
SamTzu
-----------------------------------------------
"I keep hitting the esc key, why am I still here?"

Last edited by SamTzu; 07-17-2009 at 12:43 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 07-17-2009, 12:40 AM
Zimbra Consultant & Moderator
 
Posts: 20,312
Default

How do you determine that spam has been sent from that server? Are there any local Windows PCs on that LAN? Have you checked the logs to see who has connected o that server?

Opening port 25 in the firewall will not let anyone use that as a relay, by default Zimbra is not an open relay unless you've modified it to be one. Use a web 'open relay' checking service to see if your server is open.
__________________
Regards


Bill
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 07-17-2009, 12:50 AM
Loyal Member
 
Posts: 81
Default

There was over a 1500 mails in deferred que. (Mostly from that yahoo.com.tw address.)
(Message count actually showed 250 k but I'm not sure that's accurate.)
(Spam count for the same time shows 8.0 k.)

It's a Linux only network.

Still debugging and checking the logs.

PS. How do you clear the mail que in Zimbra from command line?
__________________
SamTzu
-----------------------------------------------
"I keep hitting the esc key, why am I still here?"

Last edited by SamTzu; 07-17-2009 at 01:05 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 07-17-2009, 01:04 AM
Moderator
 
Posts: 7,928
Default

Code:
su - zimbra
postsuper -d ALL
That will delete everything in the mail queue. So onto why it may have allowed SPAMs to be sent. You can check whether you are a open relay using Mail relay testing. If it says its open then I would imagine it is down to the networks you have specified for Postfix so please post the following
Code:
su - zimbra
zmprov gs `zmhostname` zimbraMtaMyNetworks
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 07-17-2009, 01:09 AM
Loyal Member
 
Posts: 81
Default

Here is sample from the log files...

Jul 17 09:32:43 zimbra-list1 amavis[6437]: (06437-01) ESMTP::10024 /opt/zimbra/data/amavisd/tmp/amavis-20090717T093243-06437: <Brian_Maria652@ms9.hinet.net> -> <graces89@yahoo.com.tw>,<gracesaly@yahoo.com.tw>,< gracesasa2000@yahoo.com.tw>,<graceschoolther@yahoo .com.tw>,<gracescop@yahoo.com.tw>,<gracesctsao@yah oo.com.tw>,<gracescully@yahoo.com.tw>,<graceself@y ahoo.com.tw>,<gracesgw1216@yahoo.com.tw>,<gracesh2 002@yahoo.com.tw>,<gracesh888@yahoo.com.tw>,<grace shan63@yahoo.com.tw>,<graceshaw@yahoo.com.tw>,<gra ceshe1101@yahoo.com.tw>,<graceshea0317@yahoo.com.t w>,<graceshen_0706@yahoo.com.tw> SIZE=952 BODY=8BITMIME Received: from zimbra-list1.our-domain.com ([127.0.0.1]) by localhost (zimbra-list1.our-domain.com [127.0.0.1]) (amavisd-new, port 10024) with ESMTP; Fri, 17 Jul 2009 09:32:43 +0300 (EEST)
Jul 17 09:32:43 zimbra-list1 amavis[6437]: (06437-01) Checking: xNLJU7+LUmOY [10.10.11.1] <Brian_Maria652@ms9.hinet.net> -> <graces89@yahoo.com.tw>,<gracesaly@yahoo.com.tw>,< gracesasa2000@yahoo.com.tw>,<graceschoolther@yahoo .com.tw>,<gracescop@yahoo.com.tw>,<gracesctsao@yah oo.com.tw>,<gracescully@yahoo.com.tw>,<graceself@y ahoo.com.tw>,<gracesgw1216@yahoo.com.tw>,<gracesh2 002@yahoo.com.tw>,<gracesh888@yahoo.com.tw>,<grace shan63@yahoo.com.tw>,<graceshaw@yahoo.com.tw>,<gra ceshe1101@yahoo.com.tw>,<graceshea0317@yahoo.com.t w>,<graceshen_0706@yahoo.com.tw>
Jul 17 09:32:46 zimbra-list1 amavis[6437]: (06437-01) Blocked SPAM, LOCAL [10.10.11.1] [10.10.11.1] <Brian_Maria652@ms9.hinet.net> -> <graces89@yahoo.com.tw>,<gracesaly@yahoo.com.tw>,< gracesasa2000@yahoo.com.tw>,<graceschoolther@yahoo .com.tw>,<gracescop@yahoo.com.tw>,<gracesctsao@yah oo.com.tw>,<gracescully@yahoo.com.tw>,<graceself@y ahoo.com.tw>,<gracesgw1216@yahoo.com.tw>,<gracesh2 002@yahoo.com.tw>,<gracesh888@yahoo.com.tw>,<grace shan63@yahoo.com.tw>,<graceshaw@yahoo.com.tw>,<gra ceshe1101@yahoo.com.tw>,<graceshea0317@yahoo.com.t w>,<graceshen_0706@yahoo.com.tw>, Message-ID: <e5920591a7d6e3937648f4290273ebf4@localhost.locald omain>, mail_id: xNLJU7+LUmOY, Hits: 18.773, size: 952, 3675 ms
Jul 17 09:32:46 zimbra-list1 amavis[6437]: (06437-01) extra modules loaded: /opt/zimbra/zimbramon/lib/i486-linux-gnu-thread-multi/auto/Net/SSLeay/autosplit.ix, /opt/zimbra/zimbramon/lib/i486-linux-gnu-thread-multi/auto/Net/SSLeay/randomize.al, IO/Socket/SSL.pm, Net/LDAP/Extension.pm, Net/SSLeay.pm
__________________
SamTzu
-----------------------------------------------
"I keep hitting the esc key, why am I still here?"
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 07-17-2009, 01:11 AM
Loyal Member
 
Posts: 81
Default

Looks normal.

root@zimbra-list1:/var/log# su zimbra
zimbra@zimbra-list1:/var/log$ zmprov gs `zmhostname` zimbraMtaMyNetworks
# name zimbra-list1.our-domain.com
zimbraMtaMyNetworks: 127.0.0.0/8 10.10.11.0/24
__________________
SamTzu
-----------------------------------------------
"I keep hitting the esc key, why am I still here?"
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 07-17-2009, 01:12 AM
Moderator
 
Posts: 7,928
Default

Well check if your server is a open relay and if not it maybe that a account has been compromised so also check /opt/zimbra/log/audit.log for any erroneous account activity.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 07-17-2009, 01:15 AM
Loyal Member
 
Posts: 81
Default

I actually tried that...

Quote:
su - zimbra
postsuper -d ALL
postsuper: fatal: use of this command is reserved for the superuser
__________________
SamTzu
-----------------------------------------------
"I keep hitting the esc key, why am I still here?"
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 07-17-2009, 01:19 AM
Moderator
 
Posts: 7,928
Default

Oops As root
Code:
/opt/zimbra/postfix/sbin/postsuper -c /opt/zimbra/postfix/conf -d ALL
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 07-17-2009, 01:22 AM
Loyal Member
 
Posts: 81
Default

Much better, thx.
__________________
SamTzu
-----------------------------------------------
"I keep hitting the esc key, why am I still here?"
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads

Why Join?

Registering let's you ask questions, makes it easier to search, displays any files attached to posts, and notifies you about replies.

blog.zimbra.com




 

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.