Zimbra offers Open Source email server software and shared calendar for Linux and the Mac
Go Back   Zimbra :: Forums > Zimbra Collaboration Suite > Administrators

Welcome to the Zimbra :: Forums!
Welcome, if you would like to post a comment please register. We also encourage you to explore all things Zimbra with our team and members of the community.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 05-24-2006, 11:11 PM
Starter Member
 
Posts: 1
Default [SOLVED] Spam Filter Blocking Proper Email

Hi Everyone

The Zimbra Instalation i am using (Open Source) seems to be working fine. Except for one very weird bug when receiving mail in certain way.

For example (This is happening with any client and any SMTP, although with different spam grades):

I use my account at fastmail.fm Web-Interface to send a mail to the zimbra server and it works just fine. But if i use the same fastmail account but with a mail client (Evolution) using SMPT it gets blocked as Spam.

The Spam Filter complaints are this:
X-Spam-Status: Yes, score=10.347 tagged_above=-10 required=6.6 autolearn=no
tests=[AWL=-0.300, BAYES_50=0.001, DSPAM_SPAM=0.5, HELO_DYNAMIC_DHCP=3.066,
HELO_DYNAMIC_IPADDR=4.2, RCVD_IN_NJABL_PROXY=0.721,
RCVD_IN_SORBS_SOCKS=2.159]
X-Spam-Score: 10.347


And of course the headers mention my original ADSL conection:

Received: from frontend3.internal (frontend3.internal [10.202.2.152])
by frontend1.messagingengine.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id 98A29D65E7E
for <test@ZIMBRASERVER>; Wed, 24 May 2006 23:43:17 -0400 (EDT)
Received: from heartbeat1.messagingengine.com ([10.202.2.160])
by frontend3.internal (MEProxy); Wed, 24 May 2006 23:43:18 -0400
X-Sasl-enc: /MBTWRsc5j7KBqqREUhPWlNBXHcJbHmZny+OD4s/fd1x 1148528598
Received: from dsl-201-144-93-90.prod-infinitum.com.mx (unknown [201.144.93.74])
by www.fastmail.fm (Postfix) with ESMTP id 5C7FA4F96
for <test@ZIMBRASERVER>; Wed, 24 May 2006 23:43:18 -0400 (EDT)


Is there a way to tell the spam filter to only check the last "Received Field" instead of all. Or is there another way to fix this issue? Or do i have it completely wrong? I triead to google the forums for any related topics but could not find anything

Any pointers please?

Last edited by ingmarfreyz; 05-24-2006 at 11:14 PM..
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 05-25-2006, 12:09 AM
Zimbra Consultant & Moderator
 
Posts: 19,655
Default

Hi

Welcome to the forums.

Well, it's not a surprise that you got that one caught as spam. It being sent from a residential dynamic IP & you also appear to be checking at sorbs. It's possible (but you'd need to check this) that your IP block is marked as a spam sender. Have you tried hitting the 'not junk' button in zimbra to train this message as normal? I also don't use blacklists as they tend to give too many false positives such as this. You could try removing those checks for dynamic IP & SORBS to confirm that's the only problem.
__________________
Regards


Bill
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 05-25-2006, 09:58 AM
Zimbra Employee
 
Posts: 4,792
Default

These two rules are not RBL/blacklists but are just a check for dynamic looking addresses.

HELO_DYNAMIC_DHCP
HELO_DYNAMIC_IPADDR

Some info here:
http://www.mailarchives.org/list/spa...msg/2004/12455

A couple ways to fix this.

- Lower the score for these tests.
- Add a real hostname with reverse IP lookup
- use a MTA relay host instead of sending from your DSL line
__________________
Bugzilla - Wiki - Downloads - Offline Client
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 05-25-2006, 01:02 PM
Junior Member
 
Posts: 8
Default Better but still some problems.

- Lower the score for these tests.

This defenetly did help. Also the link that you send about configuring SpamAssassin.

- Add a real hostname with reverse IP lookup
- use a MTA relay host instead of sending from your DSL line


I am using an MTA relay host with evolution. Actually its working better its only when i send mail via evolution that i get the spam score. If i use another mail client its not happening.

Very weird... I have no clue as to why.

But then i guess its not a problem of zimbra.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10-23-2008, 06:56 AM
Member
 
Posts: 12
Default avoid spam

please check your domain and if u have not configured reverse dns then please configured it .i think your problem will be solve .best up luck........
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads

Why Join?

Registering let's you ask questions, makes it easier to search, displays any files attached to posts, and notifies you about replies.

blog.zimbra.com




 

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.