Zimbra offers Open Source email server software and shared calendar for Linux and the Mac
 
Go Back   Zimbra - Forums > Zimbra Collaboration Suite > Administrators

Welcome to the Zimbra - Forums!
Welcome, if you would like to post a comment please register. We also encourage you to explore all things Zimbra with our team and members of the community.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 07-10-2009, 01:31 AM
Junior Member
 
Posts: 6
Default [SOLVED] Zimbra mail considered as junk by yahoo mail

Hello Guys,

I am being bothered by this problem of our zimbra server. Once upon a time, this server is working properly. But now all the I email that I try to send out goes into the Junk mail of the recipient. Can someone help me on this. I am not sure where to start. Here is the Header from yahoo mail

Return-Path: <xxxxx@zimbraserver.com>
Authentication-Results: mta194.mail.sp2.yahoo.com from=zimbraserver.com; domainkeys=neutral (no sig); from=zimbraserver.com; dkim=neutral (no sig)
Received: from 98.137.54.227 (EHLO mail.zimbraserver.com) (X.X.X.X) by mta194.mail.sp2.yahoo.com with SMTP; Thu, 09 Jul 2009 23:39:09 -0700
Received: from localhost (localhost.localdomain [127.0.0.1]) by mail.zimbraserver.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id 177D042C0301 for <idunnohow@yahoo.com>; Fri, 10 Jul 2009 14:33:37 +0800 (PHT) tests=[ALL_TRUSTED=-1.8, AWL=0.518, BAYES_00=-2.599]
Received: from mail.zimbraserver.com ([127.0.0.1]) by localhost (mail.zimbraserver.com [127.0.0.1]) (amavisd-new, port 10024) with ESMTP id ZoUeaguc6Aw9 for <idunnohow@yahoo.com>; Fri, 10 Jul 2009 14:33:26 +0800 (PHT)
Received: from mail.zimbraserver.com (mail.zimbraserver.com [X.X.X.X]) by mail.zimbraserver.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id AB60042C02EA for <idunnohow@yahoo.com>; Fri, 10 Jul 2009 14:33:26 +0800 (PHT)
Date: Fri, 10 Jul 2009 14:33:26 +0800 (PHT)
From:
"YYYYYYY" <yyyy@zimbraserver.com>
Add sender to Contacts
To: idunnohow@yahoo.com
Message-ID: <26517993.91247207606638.JavaMail.root@mail.zimbra server.com>
Subject: Schedule of Meeting for tomorrow
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-Type: text/plain; charset=utf-8
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
Content-Length: 53
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 07-10-2009, 01:37 AM
Elite Member
 
Posts: 351
Default

Its yahoo who is marking it junk. I dont see any headers added by yahoo mail which reports it spam.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 07-10-2009, 01:38 AM
Junior Member
 
Posts: 6
Default

Thanks for the quick reply. I really appreciate it. What should I do about it? I think I am also encountering this issue with google mail.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 07-10-2009, 01:43 AM
Moderator
 
Posts: 5,800
Default

Do you have a rDNS entry in place for your domain ?
__________________
SplatNIX IT Services :: Innovation through Collaboration™


http://www.messagefortress.com
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 07-10-2009, 01:47 AM
Junior Member
 
Posts: 6
Default

I think we did not place a rDNS entry for the domain. Would this cause the problem?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 07-10-2009, 01:50 AM
Moderator
 
Posts: 5,800
Default

Yes, you would be better to use your upstream ISP to relay though unless they will add a rDNS entry for your ZCS server.
__________________
SplatNIX IT Services :: Innovation through Collaboration™


http://www.messagefortress.com
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 07-10-2009, 02:01 AM
Junior Member
 
Posts: 6
Default

Thanks. But I am still clueless as to why Yahoo is tagging it as junk mail. This is the scenario for this server. This zimbra server will serve as a student mail server. We also have an associates admin server here. Whenever I email my account from the associates server, it passes thru even on thru the sophos anti spam server. That is why I am really wondering why this is happening to the server. I only have limited time to make this work because the deployment has been long delayed because of this issue. I hope you can guide me guys as to what I need to do.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 07-10-2009, 02:30 AM
Moderator
 
Posts: 5,800
Default

Please send me a PM with your domain name so I can take a look.
__________________
SplatNIX IT Services :: Innovation through Collaboration™


http://www.messagefortress.com
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 07-12-2009, 11:50 PM
Junior Member
 
Posts: 6
Default

I think I have already solved the problem. Its with the named.conf of the server. It is pointing to a different server and not the IP address of the server. when I changed it, everything seems to work out properly.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads

Why Join?

Registering let's you ask questions, makes it easier to search, displays any files attached to posts, and notifies you about replies.

Zimbrablog.com




 

Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.1.0