Zimbra offers Open Source email server software and shared calendar for Linux and the Mac
 
Go Back   Zimbra - Forums > Zimbra Collaboration Suite > Administrators

Welcome to the Zimbra - Forums!
Welcome, if you would like to post a comment please register. We also encourage you to explore all things Zimbra with our team and members of the community.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 07-01-2009, 03:21 AM
Intermediate Member
 
Posts: 15
Default blocking mail for more than 3 recipients from yahoo or gmail to my mail server

I have set smtpd_recipient_limit=3, smtpd_recipient_overshoot_limit=3, but it just blocks sending mail to more than 3 accounts from my server to local address, but what I want is to block mails from yahoo or gmail in thsi way, as they send mail to more than 500 users and we will get in trouble. Please let me know what should I do for blocking incoming mails.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 07-01-2009, 03:39 AM
Moderator
 
Posts: 6,275
Default

Do the 500 users exists ? Are they all within in single email or individual emails ?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 07-01-2009, 05:30 AM
Zimbra Consultant & Moderator
 
Posts: 12,388
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fathianf View Post
.. but what I want is to block mails from yahoo or gmail in thsi way, as they send mail to more than 500 users and we will get in trouble.
Who is 'they' in that statement?
__________________
Regards


Bill
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 07-03-2009, 11:52 AM
Intermediate Member
 
Posts: 15
Default indivudual users

all 500 users are individual users which someone add them together with comma in one mail and send to my server. Actually the sender had made a mailing list like one I have on my server (which is not receiving mail normally) and then send mail to that fake distribution list, please let me know how to block mail when is coming for more than 3 user.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 07-05-2009, 12:35 PM
Elite Member
 
Posts: 411
Default

Can the IP be blocked on the firewall ?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 07-06-2009, 02:05 AM
Intermediate Member
 
Posts: 15
Default

No, because we don't want anybody can send mail to a group of our accounts from other domains other than ours. So blocking an IP doesn't help as we need to have regular receiving mail from other domains.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 07-06-2009, 02:11 AM
Moderator
 
Posts: 6,275
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fathianf View Post
all 500 users are individual users which someone add them together with comma in one mail and send to my server. Actually the sender had made a mailing list like one I have on my server (which is not receiving mail normally) and then send mail to that fake distribution list, please let me know how to block mail when is coming for more than 3 user.
If they are using a mailling list server then they will be coming in as individual emails.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 07-06-2009, 04:24 AM
Elite Member
 
Posts: 411
Default

But you say its a forged domain right so in logs you would have the IP address of connecting server which for sure will not be that of gmail.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 07-06-2009, 04:25 AM
Zimbra Consultant & Moderator
 
Posts: 12,388
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fathianf View Post
No, because we don't want anybody can send mail to a group of our accounts from other domains other than ours.
I'm not really sure what you're asking for here but read this article first: RestrictPostfixRecipients - Zimbra :: Wiki
__________________
Regards


Bill
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 07-07-2009, 02:41 AM
Intermediate Member
 
Posts: 15
Default

I have already done "Restrict Postfix Recipients" and it works fine, but what I want is that: for example if you as a user@example.com ( from out of my country or domains) not to be allowed to send mail to more that 3 of my users which you added them to the "TO" section of your mail. Is there any way to check header for comma separated incoming mails? or may be zimbra can determine it as spam when you try to send for more recipients.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads

Why Join?

Registering let's you ask questions, makes it easier to search, displays any files attached to posts, and notifies you about replies.

Zimbrablog.com