Zimbra offers Open Source email server software and shared calendar for Linux and the Mac
 
Go Back   Zimbra - Forums > Zimbra Collaboration Suite > Administrators

Welcome to the Zimbra - Forums!
Welcome, if you would like to post a comment please register. We also encourage you to explore all things Zimbra with our team and members of the community.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 06-07-2009, 12:32 PM
Member
 
Posts: 10
Default Problem in sending mail from Zimbra to Internet

Hi,

I am using Zimbra opensource ed Release 5.0.10_GA_2638 on Ubuntu server. I have a static IP. I am able to send mails to external corporate mail ids but I could not able to send mail to GMAIL, YAHOO & HOTMAIL. I am getting the following message from them. If any body had come across this issue please help me out in resolving it.

Regards
Richard

<@hotmail.com>: host mx3.hotmail.com[65.55.37.104] said: 550
DY-001 Mail rejected by Windows Live Hotmail for policy reasons. We
generally do not accept email from dynamic IP's as they are not typically
used to deliver unauthenticated SMTP e-mail to an Internet mail server.
The Spamhaus Project maintains lists of dynamic and residential IP
addresses. If you are not an email/network admin please contact your
E-mail/Internet Service Provider for help. Email/network admins, please
visit MSN Postmaster for email delivery information and support
(in reply to MAIL FROM command)

<@gmail.com>: host gmail-smtp-in.l.google.com[209.85.222.79] said:
550-5.7.1 [61.246.236.78] The IP you're using to send mail is not
authorized to 550-5.7.1 send email directly to our servers. Please use the
SMTP relay at your 550-5.7.1 service provider instead. Learn more at
http://mail.google 550 5.7.1 .com/support/bin/answer.py?answer=10336
11si3389187pzk.115 (in reply to end of DATA command)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 06-07-2009, 01:21 PM
Zimbra Consultant & Moderator
 
Posts: 11,510
Default

This error message from google would indicate what your problem is:


Quote:
'The IP you're using to send email is not authorized...'

In order to prevent spam, Gmail refuses mail when the sending IP address does not match the sending domain. To send mail from your server to Gmail, we suggest using the SMTP relay provided by your ISP. Please note that we are unable to whitelist IP addresses or otherwise make exceptions at this time.
I would guess from that response that your DNS records aren't correct.
__________________
Regards


Bill
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 06-08-2009, 10:18 AM
Member
 
Posts: 10
Default

Hi,

How to resolve this problem. Can you please provide some solution for it.

Regards
Richard
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 06-08-2009, 10:53 AM
Zimbra Consultant & Moderator
 
Posts: 11,510
Default

Check your DNS records and see if your MX & A records match the IP address that you're actually sending mail from.
__________________
Regards


Bill
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 06-08-2009, 11:23 AM
Member
 
Posts: 10
Default

My DNS look like this
mail.domain.com MX mail.domain.com 0
mail.domain.com A xx.xxx.xxx.xx

But My Server is behind the router. The static IP is set my router. I am using the split DNS. If u have any idea about this please help me out.


Regards
Richard
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 06-08-2009, 11:32 AM
Zimbra Consultant & Moderator
 
Posts: 11,510
Default

You need to post the exact details of your domain name and public IP or post a link to a test of your domain (such as pingability.com) you can find plenty of DNS test sites with a search. I can't tell anything from that information.
__________________
Regards


Bill
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 06-09-2009, 11:59 AM
Member
 
Posts: 10
Default

Hi

My IP address is - 61.246.236.78

My Domain is - threekay.in

Please advice me on this

Regards
Richard
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 06-09-2009, 01:11 PM
Elite Member
 
Posts: 369
Default

Refer to the link you pointed out in your post :-

'The IP you're using to send email is not authorized...' - Gmail Help

Seems gmail is doing a reverse lookup for your IP. Would you mind having a PTR record ?


> set type=PTR
> 61.246.236.78
Server: MBMUMXXXXD001DNS005
Address: 124.124.5.140

Non-authoritative answer:
78.236.246.61.in-addr.arpa name = ABTS-TN-Static-078.236.246.61.airtelbroad
band.in

236.246.61.in-addr.arpa nameserver = dnsblr.mantraonline.com
236.246.61.in-addr.arpa nameserver = dnsglobal.mantraonline.com
236.246.61.in-addr.arpa nameserver = dnsbom.mantraonline.com
236.246.61.in-addr.arpa nameserver = aaadel.mantraonline.com
236.246.61.in-addr.arpa nameserver = dnsdel.mantraonline.com
aaadel.mantraonline.com internet address = 202.56.230.6
dnsbom.mantraonline.com internet address = 202.56.240.5
dnsdel.mantraonline.com internet address = 202.56.230.5
dnsglobal.mantraonline.com internet address = 202.56.230.52
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 06-09-2009, 08:01 PM
Member
 
Posts: 10
Default

Hi,

I am on the learning curve on DNS setup. I am using everydns for setting all my DNS. It would be very helpful if you can tell how and were I can set the PTR.


Regards
Richard
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 06-09-2009, 10:34 PM
Zimbra Consultant & Moderator
 
Posts: 11,510
Default

You need to ask your ISP to set-up a reverse DNS for your IP and it needs to be in the correct format for you domain, details are here:

Men & Mice | DNS Q&A
Reverse DNS lookup - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
PTR Record - A DNS Pointer Resource Record | ItsyourIP.com
__________________
Regards


Bill
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads

Why Join?

Registering let's you ask questions, makes it easier to search, displays any files attached to posts, and notifies you about replies.

Zimbrablog.com




 

Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.1.0