Zimbra offers Open Source email server software and shared calendar for Linux and the Mac
Go Back   Zimbra :: Forums > Zimbra Collaboration Suite > Administrators

Welcome to the Zimbra :: Forums!
Welcome, if you would like to post a comment please register. We also encourage you to explore all things Zimbra with our team and members of the community.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 04-07-2009, 05:02 AM
Junior Member
 
Posts: 9
Default Zimbra sending mails without authentication via JavaMail

Hi,

I am trying to use Zimbra (or postfix for that matter) to send mails using JavaMail.

The problem is that Zimbra is sending mails from non-existant users / domains and not using authentication. Ex: Zimbra sends off mails from admin123@mydomain.com even if this account doesnt exist. Also, mails can be sent from admin@mydomain123.com where the domain doesnt exist!!!

Below are the relevant settings (according to me ) from my /postfix/conf/main.cf file:

smtpd_recipient_restrictions = reject_unlisted_recipient, reject_non_fqdn_sender, reject_unlisted_recipient, permit_mynetworks, permit_sasl_authenticated, reject_unauth_destination, reject_invalid_hostname, reject_unknown_sender_domain, reject_unknown_recipient_domain, reject_invalid_hostname, reject_non_fqdn_sender, reject
broken_sasl_auth_clients = yes
smtpd_sasl_auth_enable = yes
smtpd_sasl_security_options = noanonymous
smtpd_sasl_local_domain = $myhostname
smtpd_client_restrictions = reject_unauth_pipelining


The below is my /zimbra/conf/postfix_recipient_restrictions.cf file:

reject_unlisted_recipient
reject_non_fqdn_sender
reject_unlisted_recipient
permit_mynetworks
permit_sasl_authenticated
reject_unauth_destination
reject_invalid_hostname
reject_unknown_sender_domain
reject_unknown_recipient_domain
%%contains VAR:zimbraMtaRestriction reject_invalid_hostname%%
%%contains VAR:zimbraMtaRestriction reject_non_fqdn_hostname%%
%%contains VAR:zimbraMtaRestriction reject_non_fqdn_sender%%
%%contains VAR:zimbraMtaRestriction reject_unknown_client%%
%%contains VAR:zimbraMtaRestriction reject_unknown_hostname%%
%%contains VAR:zimbraMtaRestriction reject_unknown_sender_domain%%
%%contains VAR:zimbraMtaRestriction reject_rbl_client dnsbl.njabl.org%%
%%contains VAR:zimbraMtaRestriction reject_rbl_client cbl.abuseat.org%%
%%contains VAR:zimbraMtaRestriction reject_rbl_client bl.spamcop.net%%
%%contains VAR:zimbraMtaRestriction reject_rbl_client dnsbl.sorbs.net%%
%%contains VAR:zimbraMtaRestriction reject_rbl_client sbl.spamhaus.org%%
%%contains VAR:zimbraMtaRestriction reject_rbl_client xbl.spamhaus.org%%
%%contains VAR:zimbraMtaRestriction reject_rbl_client sbl-xbl.spamhaus.org%%
%%contains VAR:zimbraMtaRestriction reject_rbl_client relays.mail-abuse.org%%
reject


Plz note that some of these settings might be unneccessary as I have just been trying things out

Any help will be welcomed as I have been at it the whole day but havent been able to find any solutions!

Regards,
Sumit

Last edited by curium; 04-07-2009 at 05:05 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 04-07-2009, 05:05 AM
Moderator
 
Posts: 7,928
Default

If you are running JavaMail from the ZCS server then the option permit_mynetworks in Postfix will allow it through and perform no other checks.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 04-07-2009, 06:00 AM
Junior Member
 
Posts: 9
Default

Hi uxbod,

Thanks a lot for the super quick response!! Yes it finally worked.. Thanks a lot.

But just curious, within zimbra which config file is given precedence: '/postfix/conf/main.cf' or '/zimbra/conf/postfix_recipient_restrictions.cf'? Or am I asking the wrong question?? Basically want to ensure that I am not authenticating mails twice!!!

Regards,
Sumit
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 04-07-2009, 06:17 AM
Junior Member
 
Posts: 9
Default

Hi uxbod,

Just tested using a valid email account and even thats not able to send mails now!! What am I doing wrong? I just removed 'permit_mynetworks' from the above mentioned files.

The logs say that the recipient address is invalid and so , 554 <recipient@domain.com>: Relay access denied.

Regards,
Sumit
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads

Why Join?

Registering let's you ask questions, makes it easier to search, displays any files attached to posts, and notifies you about replies.

blog.zimbra.com




 

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.