Zimbra offers Open Source email server software and shared calendar for Linux and the Mac
Go Back   Zimbra :: Forums > Zimbra Collaboration Suite > Administrators

Welcome to the Zimbra :: Forums!
Welcome, if you would like to post a comment please register. We also encourage you to explore all things Zimbra with our team and members of the community.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12-08-2008, 03:22 AM
Active Member
 
Posts: 26
Default Undelivered Mail Returned to Sender

Hi,

I´m very happy that I discovered Zimbra! I have some domains where I set up the MX record to the Zimbra domain mailhost.xxMYDOMAINxx.de.
Everything works fine except sending mails to any user @web.de. When sending an email to a @web.de-user I immediately get the following error message as an email:

Code:
This is the mail system at host mailhost.xxMYDOMAINxx.de.

I'm sorry to have to inform you that your message could not
be delivered to one or more recipients. It's attached below.

For further assistance, please send mail to postmaster.

If you do so, please include this problem report. You can
delete your own text from the attached returned message.

                   The mail system

<USER@web.de>: web.de
This seems to be a strange message, because it does not contain an error description. Do you have a hint what the problem could be?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12-08-2008, 03:24 AM
Moderator
 
Posts: 7,928
Default

Well on checking the MX records for that domain it produces
Code:
web.de.			38853	IN	MX	110 mx-ha02.web.de.
web.de.			38853	IN	MX	100 mx-ha01.web.de.
so are those Zimbra servers or just front-end MTAs ? Do you validate the users against your LDAP ?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12-08-2008, 03:28 AM
Active Member
 
Posts: 26
Default

Maybe I didn´t described it clear enough. web.de is NOT my domain, it is a freemail service and I want to send mails to a web.de user from zimbra.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12-08-2008, 03:29 AM
Moderator
 
Posts: 7,928
Default

Check /var/log/zimbra.log to see why Postfix was unable to deliver the message.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12-08-2008, 03:39 AM
Active Member
 
Posts: 26
Default

Probably it is the following line ...
Code:
Dec  8 12:12:00 mailhost postfix/error[8188]: 6FDBF1A8002: to=<user@web.de>, relay=none, delay=0.36, delays=0.11/0.12/0/0.13, dsn=5.0.0, status=bounced (web.de)
... saying "status=bounced". Do you have an idea why I could be bounced?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 12-08-2008, 03:45 AM
Moderator
 
Posts: 7,928
Default

Do you have a reverse PTR for your MX ? Are you sending from a DSL service ? lots of reasons why it may be. PM me your domain if you wish and I can take a look see.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 12-08-2008, 03:51 AM
Moderator
 
Posts: 7,928
Default

Your mailservers IP address is listed under no-more-funn: dr. Jørgen Mash's dnsbl so it may be because of the headers on your emails. Are you behind a firewall on a private IP by any chance ? If so, you could always use your upstream ISP as a smarthost.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 12-08-2008, 04:21 AM
Active Member
 
Posts: 26
Default

It´s a server at a hoster´s site with three IP addresses. It´s quite new, so maybe the IP is on that list because the one who owned it before did unallowed things?

edit: I whitelisted the IP at no-more-funn, so it should work in a few hours. I hope so.

Last edited by tabster; 12-08-2008 at 04:24 AM..
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 12-08-2008, 11:09 PM
Active Member
 
Posts: 26
Default

Could it be that Zimbra uses another IP address for sending mail than the mailhost.xxMYDOMAINxx.de entry points to? Where could I change that?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 12-09-2008, 12:15 AM
Partner (VAR/HSP)
 
Posts: 200
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tabster View Post
Could it be that Zimbra uses another IP address for sending mail than the mailhost.xxMYDOMAINxx.de entry points to? Where could I change that?
Hi,

as uxbod pointed out, you should check the DNS settings of the IP addresses on your server. The sendig IP needs a reverse DNS entry (PTR record) that resolves to a hostname (some.domain.name). And the forward entry for "some.domain.name" should point to this IP...

Many mailserver deny to accept mail from misconfigured hosts. web.de is probably not the only one...

Regards
Thomas
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads

Why Join?

Registering let's you ask questions, makes it easier to search, displays any files attached to posts, and notifies you about replies.

blog.zimbra.com




 

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.