Zimbra offers Open Source email server software and shared calendar for Linux and the Mac
Go Back   Zimbra :: Forums > Zimbra Collaboration Suite > Administrators

Welcome to the Zimbra :: Forums!
Welcome, if you would like to post a comment please register. We also encourage you to explore all things Zimbra with our team and members of the community.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12-01-2008, 09:13 AM
Special Member
 
Posts: 117
Default Only using spamhause.org for RBL?

In my admin console I have enabled the following:
zen.spamhause.org
relays.mail-abuse.org
sbl-xbl.spamhaus.org
bl.spamcop.net
dnsbl.sarbs.net

But when I look at my mail log, I am only seeing rejections from zen.spamhaus.org

What am I missing?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12-01-2008, 04:01 PM
Special Member
 
Posts: 118
Default Probably correct.

Since Zen is listed first, it's probably catching all RBL Listed senders before it hits another RBL. I see the same thing - rarely get hits on the 2nd and 3rd RBL's

Just to verify, you can remove zen for a few hours and see what you get.
__________________
Work
7.0.1 UBUNTU8_64 UBUNTU8_64 NETWORK

Home
7.0.1 UBUNTU8_64 UBUNTU8_64 FOSS
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12-01-2008, 05:58 PM
Moderator
 
Posts: 1,209
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ScottChapman View Post
In my admin console I have enabled the following:
zen.spamhause.org
relays.mail-abuse.org
sbl-xbl.spamhaus.org
bl.spamcop.net
dnsbl.sarbs.net

But when I look at my mail log, I am only seeing rejections from zen.spamhaus.org

What am I missing?
Well, there are a few things going on here...

First, zen.spamhaus.org includes all of the listings the sbl-xbl list (and then some), so zen is the only spamhaus rbl you need. See The Spamhaus Project - ZEN for more info.

Second, I believe that relays.mail-abuse.org was bought by Trend Micro, so the service is no longer free, and in any event the rbl server is now rbl-plus.mail-abuse.org as I recall.

Third, bl.spamcop.net in my experience doesn't list any legitimate spam IPs that are not already on the zen.spamhaus list, so we don't use it. Spamcop in the past has had some false positives (legitimate sources incorrectly/aggressively listed as spam sources), which is why historically we have not used it.

Fourth, you have "dnsbl.sarbs.net" above but it really is "dnsbl.sorbs.net", so, with that typo it's not surprising you are not seeing any hits. :-)

You may also want to check out psbl.surriel.com. Both it and Spamhaus are considered "conservative", and so each is unlikely to block legitimate email. Some tests we have seen have shown that the two together, given their very different listing methodologies, are very, very effective.

Hope that helps,
Mark
__________________
___________________________________
L. Mark Stone, CIO


"Uptime. All the time."

477 Congress Street | Portland, ME 04101-3431 | (207) 772-5678

proactive maintenance and monitoring | technology consulting
Zimbra groupware | EMR implementations | private cloud hosting
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Why Join?

Registering let's you ask questions, makes it easier to search, displays any files attached to posts, and notifies you about replies.

blog.zimbra.com




 

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.