Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: bad spam getting thru

bbarrons is offline Special Member

Default bad spam getting thru

I know that spam is a big topic and I have read everything there is on the forums but I am a bit of a novice in this area so bear with me. I have had a zimbra server up and running for a small private school for the past 3 months. Spam has been greatly reduced from what they are used to but how can an email get thru with the F word in the subject line? at first I had just whatever was default setup, I have since reduced the numbers from 75/33 to 30/15. I enabled SPF and installed razor. I followed one of the guides in the wiki but they were written several versions ago. I am running ubuntu 8.04 with 5.09 installed.
    I dont think I want to use greylisting so what are the best recommendations and easiest way to implement them? I can follow a guide well enough. Any ideas?
    thanks
    Bill B

uxbod is offline Moderator

I would recommend taking a look at SaneSecurity - Phishing and Scam Signatures for ClamAV. Even though SARE Ninjas are currently not developing their signatures some of the old ones are pretty good. Also, Kevin McGrail rules for SA are pretty good.

BrianA is offline Senior Member

with all due respect to the zimbra guys, I find it easiest to have a "perimeter" box that does the spam n virus filtering, then relays to zimbra. I have the zimbra spam n AV turned off.
    This means I can have a really neat setup that doesnt get trashed if I want to upgrade zimbra versions.
    Some things I have set up in our spam filtering include
    - country based rejection. country is based on IP address ranges - see The DNSBL countries.nerd.dk loaded into a dns server that returns a value 1,2,3,4 depending on how I arbitarily rated the country. nigeria gets a 4.
    - rule to allow emails with our companys sig in them thru (like an auto whitelist for replys to our emails)
    - the ninjas rules are good
    - the sane security is good too