Zimbra offers Open Source email server software and shared calendar for Linux and the Mac
 
Go Back   Zimbra - Forums > Zimbra Collaboration Suite > Administrators

Welcome to the Zimbra - Forums!
Welcome, if you would like to post a comment please register. We also encourage you to explore all things Zimbra with our team and members of the community.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 08-10-2008, 05:47 AM
Senior Member
 
Posts: 62
Default how to block all mails coming from that particular email address.

hi pals

i am receiving lot of useless mails from particular email.

how to block all mails coming from that particular address.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 08-10-2008, 06:01 AM
Zimbra Consultant & Moderator
 
Posts: 11,508
Default

Search the forums and wiki for the word 'blacklist'.
__________________
Regards


Bill
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 08-10-2008, 06:19 AM
Senior Member
 
Posts: 62
Default

hi phoenix

is it possible?

since i am using opensource edition.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 08-10-2008, 06:23 AM
Senior Member
 
Posts: 62
Default

hi phoenix

i found the command from wiki zimbra.

Quote:

blacklist_from sales@traveloforange.com
whitelist_from bill@yahoo.net
blacklist_from *@emn-mysavingsnow.net
i am not able to execute above commands even after i logged in as zimbra user.

how to solve this
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 08-10-2008, 07:27 AM
Zimbra Consultant & Moderator
 
Posts: 11,508
Default

They are not commands you execute, read the wiki article on how to implement blacklist/whitelist it has the full details of what you need to do.
__________________
Regards


Bill
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 08-11-2008, 09:06 AM
Elite Member
 
Posts: 308
Default

Here's the wiki link. It's a bit confusing as it lists 2 ways to do blacklists, but the one Phoenix is talking about is mentioned in the section for modifying the salocal.cf.in file. We're about to do this ourselves. Best of luck!!

http://wiki.zimbra.com/index.php?tit...ti-spam_system
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 08-12-2008, 12:51 AM
Senior Member
 
Posts: 62
Default

hi Jbrabander


yes i have added the lines in "alocal.cf.in".

but it is not working.

how to solve the problem
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 08-12-2008, 03:43 AM
Moderator
 
Posts: 5,806
Default

Did you restart ZCS once you added those entries ? Also could you post the output from
Code:
su - zimbra
spamassassin -D --lint
so we can check that there are no errors in your SA configuration.
__________________
SplatNIX IT Services :: Innovation through Collaboration™


http://www.messagefortress.com
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 08-12-2008, 05:18 AM
Senior Member
 
Posts: 62
Default

hi uxbod

i used this command to restart zimbra assassin

Quote:
zmamavisdctl restart
it did not show any error in output
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 08-12-2008, 07:25 AM
Elite Member
 
Posts: 308
Default

I just added a number of addresses into the salocal file too as blacklisted. But email from them still came in. I, too, did a "zmamavisdctl restart" command after adding them, but apparently it had no effect for some reason. One of the addresses I added was in the format of:

address*@*.com

I was trying to catch variants like:

address1@gmail.com
address34@yahoo.com

Any suggestions from the gang out there in Zimbra land?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads

Why Join?

Registering let's you ask questions, makes it easier to search, displays any files attached to posts, and notifies you about replies.

Zimbrablog.com




 

Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.1.0