Zimbra offers Open Source email server software and shared calendar for Linux and the Mac
 
Go Back   Zimbra - Forums > Zimbra Collaboration Suite > Administrators

Welcome to the Zimbra - Forums!
Welcome, if you would like to post a comment please register. We also encourage you to explore all things Zimbra with our team and members of the community.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 03-03-2006, 04:08 PM
Active Member
 
Posts: 49
Default Sender Address Rejected

Hi all,

To all the administrators and moderators - thanks for your assistance. You have all been great to work with and gain knowledge from. I have a functional beta server running on SuSE 9, upgraded to version 3.0.1 and have posted here a few times when i've been really stuck.

Today i've gotten the following reponse in attempting to send to an email address.

This is the Postfix program at host dmrmail01.dmrcom.com.

I'm sorry to have to inform you that your message could not
be delivered to one or more recipients. It's attached below.

For further assistance, please send mail to <postmaster>

If you do so, please include this problem report. You can
delete your own text from the attached returned message.


The Postfix program

<randa@mac-companies.com>: host imgate01.cybertime.net[216.117.206.24] said:
554 <dn@poboxdmr.com>: Sender address rejected: RFC1893 ERR 5.7.1 mail
server in RFC 1918 private network (in reply to RCPT TO command)

I'm assuming the reason for this is that i'm being rejected by an anitspam feature that blocks all traffic from an internal 10.10.10.x address. I have my server on an internal LAN for the short term while i test it, and have plans to move it to a public space and public ip soon, which i assume would fix the issue. In the meantime, is there a way to fix this - plus i figure there may be others that have a similar setup and would run across this issue as well? Regards.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 03-03-2006, 04:09 PM
Zimbra Employee
 
Posts: 2,073
Default

Set a relay host. Or possibly change the public DNS resolution for your mail server, since that's where (I assume) it's getting your IP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 03-03-2006, 04:27 PM
Active Member
 
Posts: 49
Default

Thank you. I will try your suggestions and report back asap. Best.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 03-10-2006, 12:41 PM
Active Member
 
Posts: 49
Default

I tried both suggestions but the message continued to get rejected to all users of this particular domain. I fixed the problem by giving the mail server a public ip address. After that, my users could send to this particular domain. I attribute it to overzealous spam control by this particular mail server. As for a fix for those users with private ip's, i wish i had a solution for you. Sorry. When i ramp up another test server with a private addess, i'll revisit the issue. Thanks for you assistance.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes


Similar Threads

Why Join?

Registering let's you ask questions, makes it easier to search, displays any files attached to posts, and notifies you about replies.

Zimbrablog.com




 

Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.1.0