Zimbra offers Open Source email server software and shared calendar for Linux and the Mac
Go Back   Zimbra :: Forums > Zimbra Collaboration Suite > Administrators

Welcome to the Zimbra :: Forums!
Welcome, if you would like to post a comment please register. We also encourage you to explore all things Zimbra with our team and members of the community.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 04-08-2008, 11:33 PM
Intermediate Member
 
Posts: 20
Default Zimbra Whitelist techniques don't work

I have experimented with all the techniques for whitelisting a domain found in the wiki but none of them work or appear to work.

I know it has been discussed here before and everyone points to that wiki for the answer. Can someone verify that it is working with GA5.0.4 x86_64? I just realized I'm outdated so I'll be upgrading from 5.0.3 to 5.0.4 but it would be nice to know for sure which method is supposed to work (as there are several listed).
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 04-09-2008, 12:01 AM
Zimbra Consultant & Moderator
 
Posts: 19,655
Default

Yes, the Whitelisting techniques do work.

Perhaps if you gave details of what exactly you've tried, what results you're trying to achieve and the outcome you've seen then we might be able to help.
__________________
Regards


Bill
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 04-09-2008, 12:23 AM
Moderator
 
Posts: 7,911
Default

Have a scan through your Log Files - Zimbra :: Wiki aswell, and also please http://www.zimbra.com/forums/announc...r-profile.html
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 04-12-2008, 10:27 PM
Intermediate Member
 
Posts: 20
Default

What I did was use the suggestion here

I added one line above the 'nobody@cert.org' => -3.0 ::

'reports.spamcop.net' => -100.0,

Restarted amavis with zmamavisdctl

All mail from *@reports.spamcop.net still hit the Junk box. I'll check my logs to determine what is happening. The two different techniques mentioned in that post seem redundant. They both appear to be able to whitelist / blacklist entire domains and individual senders but one uses a score, the other uses a list.

I assume that if it actually worked, I would want to use the :
read_hash(\%whitelist_sender, '/etc/zimbra/whitelist');

Here is a header from the 'spam'

Code:
X-Spam-Flag: YES
X-Spam-Score: 7.77
X-Spam-Level: *******
X-Spam-Status: Yes, score=7.77 tagged_above=-10 required=4
	tests=[BAYES_50=0.001, DATE_IN_PAST_12_24=0.992,
	FORGED_MUA_MOZILLA=2.696, FROM_STARTS_WITH_NUMS=1.499,
	SPF_PASS=-0.001, URIBL_OB_SURBL=1.5, URIBL_RHS_DOB=1.083]

In this case, it would make more sense to use a distinct header that I know spamcop uses - like :

X-SpamCop-sourceip: -or- X-Mailer: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 7.0; Windows NT 5.1) via SpamCop.net - Beware of cheap imitations v647

But it still would be nice to see the whitelist by domain name or sender working.

Last edited by fireman949; 04-12-2008 at 10:34 PM.. Reason: clarification
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 04-13-2008, 01:05 AM
Moderator
 
Posts: 7,911
Default

We need to see what happened to that email, via the logfiles, to understand why whitelisting did not work.

I have just tested this myself, using my googlemail account, and it passed through just fine. I followed the same steps of updating /opt/zimbra/conf/amavisd.conf.in and then a zmamavisdctl restart
__________________

Last edited by uxbod; 04-13-2008 at 01:14 AM..
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads

Why Join?

Registering let's you ask questions, makes it easier to search, displays any files attached to posts, and notifies you about replies.

blog.zimbra.com




 

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.