Thread: What is Zimbra doing when it is idle?

Podilarius is offline Intermediate Member

Question What is Zimbra doing when it is idle?

I am new to Zimbra and I have gotten a new server going with 5.02. No emails are currently going to this box. I was hoping to move to it soon. I am concerned about what Zimbra is doing when it should be idle. I see a load average of .6 .3 .3 with nothing else running and the task from top -c is the zimbra java (tomcat). So I am just curious, what is Zimbra doing when it should be idle? Why would I not see a load averae of 0 0 0?

Podilarius

phoenix is online now Zimbra Consultant & Moderator

Welcome to the forums.

Various things will be running on your server such as , the scheduling of tasks to make sure Zimbra services are OK, timed task for cleaning mailboxes etc. to name but two. There's nothing to worry about and Zimbra doesn't actually do 'nothing' when there's no mail coming in.
    Regards

Bill

Acompli: A new adventure for Co-Founder KevinH.

Wink I get that.

I see that there are scheduled tasks. I see when they run, but there is a constant process that is always running, as if it were a game server, and it is always using processing power. I have run postfix mail servers for years and they only show process when mail is being processed. There is no mail going to this box yet, test or otherwise. What is it doing and why is it taking up 15% of my memory?

Podilarius

p24t is offline Moderator

Well, it depends on the box you have it on. The main ZCS box here at work tends to sit at 0,0,0. It's a heavy duty server, probably more than we need to run Zimbra, which is good.

Now my Zimbra server at home is running on an old system. It's load is constantly .4-.8 or more. When I do things it goes up a bit. Now, this is a very old system, with little memory in it.

One way or the other, there's processes constantly running using CPU and memory, it just depends on how much you have to give it, whether you notice or not.