Zimbra offers Open Source email server software and shared calendar for Linux and the Mac
Go Back   Zimbra :: Forums > Zimbra Collaboration Suite > Administrators

Welcome to the Zimbra :: Forums!
Welcome, if you would like to post a comment please register. We also encourage you to explore all things Zimbra with our team and members of the community.

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12-05-2007, 12:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 215
Default Blocking a specific email address

Ok guys I know this is easy to do I'm just not sure how to do it in Zimbra. I want to bounce email from a specific email address (somefreak@adomain.com). Is there a place in the admin interface I can do this for all accounts on my domain? Like if any email comes from somefreak@adomain.com they just get a bounce message saying something like "Rejected Due To Content" or "Source Address Rejected"?

Thanks guys,
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12-05-2007, 02:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 215
Default

Ok I tried this listed here:

Postfix blacklist or reject an email address

The zimbra installation is a little different and I'm not sure where the options have to be entered ... I'm guessing it's an internal type of thing? I'll keep looking later

Still like a hand if anyone has an idea
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12-06-2007, 01:23 AM
Zimbra Consultant & Moderator
 
Posts: 19,653
Default

Isn't this wiki article on blacklisting what you need?
__________________
Regards


Bill
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12-06-2007, 04:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 215
Default my search skills need some work ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by phoenix View Post
Isn't this wiki article on blacklisting what you need?
I hammered through the wiki for a while and didn't really find anything. This will definitely work it just wont respond with an error to the sender but I'm sure I can deal with that lol

Thanks!!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12-06-2007, 04:53 AM
Zimbra Consultant & Moderator
 
Posts: 19,653
Default

The problem in responding to the sender is that you may be responding to the wrong person. If the headers are forged you'll just end-up spamming someone who may not be 'guilty'. IMO, for a blacklisted address it's far better to just drop the mail or connection.
__________________
Regards


Bill
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 12-06-2007, 05:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 215
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by phoenix View Post
The problem in responding to the sender is that you may be responding to the wrong person. If the headers are forged you'll just end-up spamming someone who may not be 'guilty'. IMO, for a blacklisted address it's far better to just drop the mail or connection.
Very valid actually. There's anough traffic being generated by unsolicited and garbage email. Now that I think of it I've actually gotten bounce notices from servers regarding accounts I've never heard of claiming I sent them spam and it was rejected.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 12-06-2007, 06:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 215
Default

um ... ok I'm missing something. I only have a amavisd.conf file and not an amavis.conf ... should I create an amavis.conf file? if I put the hash entry in amavisd.conf and restart amavisd the line dissapears and the change is moot
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 12-06-2007, 06:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
Posts: 215
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpEnTBoY View Post
um ... ok I'm missing something. I only have a amavisd.conf file and not an amavis.conf ... should I create an amavis.conf file? if I put the hash entry in amavisd.conf and restart amavisd the line dissapears and the change is moot
Holy I need a vacation ... changed the .in file and we're good. Thanks again Bill!!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 12-06-2007, 06:28 AM
Zimbra Consultant & Moderator
 
Posts: 19,653
Default

The file you should modify is amavisd.conf.in otherwise the changes will get overwritten every restart of Zimbra, do you have the .in file?
__________________
Regards


Bill
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 12-06-2007, 06:31 AM
Zimbra Consultant & Moderator
 
Posts: 19,653
Default

Ah, you're too quick for me.
__________________
Regards


Bill
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Similar Threads

Why Join?

Registering let's you ask questions, makes it easier to search, displays any files attached to posts, and notifies you about replies.

blog.zimbra.com




 

SEO by vBSEO ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.