Thread: Forward mail to external mail server and from external mail server back to zimbra

Tmanagement is offline Member

Default Forward mail to external mail server and from external mail server back to zimbra

Hi all,

I would like to set up Zimbra at home to test drive. However, since it will only be used during the day I thought of shutting down the server every night. Because of this and other reasons I was wondering if I can use my existing mail server to forward incoming messages to Zimbra and that Zimbra can forward the messages to the existing server.

I am not an expert on this so I was wondering first of all is this possible and more generally how does it work in practice.
    Suppose that current email is @existing.com which is handled by the existing mail server. What is Zimbra using? I suppose you have to have a @test.com for Zimbra in order to work with it since it is all based on email, right? If so does this mean that you have to have 2 mail domains -one used for Zimbra plus the one used currently on the existing system-?

When I give person A a Zimbra account a@test.com and that person wants to sent an email using his existing email account a@existing.com that person should be able to sent out of Zimbra to his existing account where it is converted from a@test.com to a@existing.com before sending out.

Since Zimbra will be down overnight I want to let email for person A to be processed to a@existing.com where the server holds the email and once Zimbra is online forward the message to A's Zimbra account a@test.com

Hopefully this will work in some way or another.

dwmtractor is offline Moderator

Two of the wiki documentation sections may be helpful to you:

1) The Split Domain wiki discusses having some users on your old system and some on the new one

2) You may find some helpful stuff in the User Migration wiki since it talks about moving into Zimbra from a variety of other mail servers.