Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Server Advice

MrBryce2000 is offline Senior Member

Default Server Advice

Hello, All.

I am fairly new to Zimbra, but am already very impressed! So much so, that I am helping a non-profit organization plan an implementation, that will allow them to migrate their existing email accounts from their hosting provider's server to their own locally managed server.

The advice I need is this: the server I am planning to setup will also be the organization's firewall, router, gateway, proxy filter (squid with squidguard), and ftp server. Will any of this interfere with Zimbra? If not, then what caliber of server would you suggest to handle all of this?

Thank you very much for your time!

~ Bryce

mmorse is offline Moderator

I think your going to be happier in the long run if you do a zimbra box separate. Stats on number of users...mail storage needed...planned operating system...etc? (and if you plan on keeping this one big box-internet traffic?) The hardware you planned to use before you added zimbra to your list would tell us a lot.

Thank you for your prompt reply!

At the moment we have approximately 30 users, give or take. That may increase a little in the future. The current users are very email dependent for their jobs, but are also needing a reliable and flexible calendaring option. I don't know the total mailbox size needs.

I am planning on using CentOS Linux version 5 for my server O.S. The servers that I have set up in the past have been mainly file and web servers, so I will base the hardware specs off of that experience. Here is what I was thinking of:

- Dual Intel Xeon (or P4 if I must) 2.8 or 3.0 Ghz
    - 4GB of RAM (2GB if I must)
    - Two 250GB SATA Hard Drives (320GB if we can afford it)
    - Dual Gigabit NICs
    - DVD burner (we don't have the money for a tape backup solution)

I was thinking of a Dell PowerEdge server, or one of the higher-end Systemax servers on Tigerdirect.com.