ZCS Administrator Guide 8.0
ZCS Administrator Guide 8.0
Network Edition


Managing User Accounts > Move a Mailbox

Move a Mailbox
Mailboxes can be moved between Zimbra servers that share the same LDAP server.
You can move a mailbox from either the administration console or use the CLI command, zmmboxmove to move a mailbox from one server to another without taking down the servers.
The destination server manages the mailbox move process. The move runs in the background and the account remains in active mode until most of the data has been moved. The account is locked briefly to move the last data and then returned to active mode.
The mailbox move process goes through the following steps:
*
*
*
*
After the mailbox is moved to a new server, a copy still remains on the older server, but the status of old mailbox is closed. Users cannot log on and mail is not delivered. Check to see that all the mailbox content was moved successfully before purging the old mailbox.
*
zmmboxmove -a <email@address> --from <servername> --to <servername>
*
zmpurgeoldmbox -a <email@address> -s <servernamee>
Global Configuration Option for Moving Mailboxes
Global configuration options for moving a mailbox can be set to exclude search indexes, blobs, and HSM blobs when mailboxes are moved. The following configuration options can be set on either the exporting server or the destination server:
*
zimbraMailboxMoveSkipSearchIndex. If you do not include the search index data, the mailbox will have to be reindexed after the move.
*
zimbraMailboxMoveSkipBlobs. Blobs associated with the mailbox, including primary and secondary volumes (HSM) are excluded.
*
zimbraMailboxMoveSkipHsmBlobs. This is useful when HSM blobs for the mailbox being moved already exists. Set this if zimbraMailboxMoveSkipBlobs is not set, but you want to skip blobs on HSM volumes.
Delete an Account
You can delete accounts from the administration console. This removes the account from the server, deletes the message store, and changes the number of accounts used against your license.
Before you delete an account, run a full backup of that account to save the account information. See the Backup and Restore chapter.
Copyright © 2012 VMware Inc.