Your email accounts may have an maximum storage size and to maintain below the quota you need to remove email messages when your mailbox begins to fill up. Instead of deleting messages, you can save these files offline in Zimbra Desktop. You do this by moving your messages and attachments to a folder on Zimbra Desktop that is not synced back to your account.
When you archive messages, messages are saved to your computer. If your computer crashes, your archived messages could be lost. To protect your archive data, you should use the Zimbra back up tool. See Backing up the Content of Your Account.
For Zimbra Web Client, a Local Folders folder is created on Zimbra Desktop. Messages put into the Local Folders folder are saved to your computer and deleted from the server.
To archive ZWC messages, create folders within Local Folders and move messages to these folders. You can also drag an entire personal folder to the Local Folder. The next time you sync, the messages you moved to the Local Folders folder are removed from the server. Messages in the Local Folders folder are not available when you directly log in to your ZWC account.
When you delete files from the Local Folder, they are not put in the Trash folder, but are immediately deleted.
For the other email accounts that you set up, you can create folders on Zimbra Desktop that do not sync back to the server. When a message is moved to a folder that does not sync, the next time Zimbra Desktop syncs to your account, the messages are removed from the server. Messages in these folders are not available when you directly log on to your account.
To create a new archive folder, select the account on Zimbra Desktop and in the Folders menu, right-click and select New Folder.
Name the folder and select where to place the new folder.
Select that folder, right click and select Turn sync off.
You can also turn sync off on any of your personal folders.
When you turn sync off, the green ball no longer appears next to the folder.
Messages moved to a folder that does not sync back to your account are removed from the server.
To sync folders again, turn sync on. The next time your Zimbra Desktop syncs to your account, the contents of the folder is syncd.